We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tarvic 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Tarvic 2 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Tarvik 2 really is a budget hotel. You get what you pay for. Payment is preferred in cash otherwise there is a charge - even for debit cards. The rooms are relatively clean and the staff are very friendly and polite. The hotel itself is extremely tired. The beds are extremely hard. The heating works. The breakfast is hot and plentiful. If you are on a budget this is the hotel for you, however, there is better accommodation available for a similar price if you shop about.

We had requested a sea view and a room with a bath. The view we got was absolutely remarkable. A wonderful vista of derelict and rotting buildings with rubbish and rubble filling the rest of the space. We were asked if everything was ok with the room so we mentioned the view. The guy on Reception had the grace to look embarrassed and then said the sea view rooms were family rooms and cost more.

It has to be pointed out that the hotel was not exactly overflowing with guests, if bookings were in double figures it would have been amazing. Thus we were surprised to have been given the room we were with the view, no bath, on the top floor at the very end of the corridor. Surely there must have been a better room available? To be fair to the hotel staff we were asked if we wanted to change rooms, but as we were uncertain as to whether this would incur an additional charge, we declined.

The bed was the hardest bed we have ever encountered - Fred Flintstone would have been proud. However, it wasn't lumpy so did not prevent sleep. The en suite was ok. The shower door took a lot of closing as it had dropped and was very, very tired with some nasty looking parts that had built up over time. The worst thing was the absence of a bath mat which made the whole shower experience very perilous indeed. Thankfully a bath mat appeared on the second day.

There was no entertainment whilst we were there, unless you count the guests swapping stories about their rooms and comparing. We decided that we came off the best as our shower worked, albeit rather pathetically, both lights in the en suite worked, our windows opened, and we got a bath mat eventually. Other guests had the some lovely view. No one managed to gain wifi access which was a little annoying as it is pretty much expected that it would be available at least in public areas.

All in all, this hotel is ok but very, very tired. The staff are great, this must be stressed, but they can only work with the facilities they have. Our main complaint really is that if the hotel has hardly any bookings, for goodness sake, upgrade the rooms dished out to guests. It would create a better impression and may encourage repeat visits. Certainly if the room had been better we may have considered returning, but as things stand, this is not a hotel we would choose to stay in again.

Overall, the hotel provides pretty much what it says it will provide, but with no frills, but as we only paid £125 for 3 nights including breakfast for 2 of us, that isn't bad. We unfortunately will not return to the hotel as there is better accommodation to be had for not much more money, however, someone did not read tripadvisor before booking............!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have an appalling view and small windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    31
    26
    23
See reviews for
39
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Freezing, Miserable, Dirty, Tatty Hotel, full of cobwebs and dust. Owner unapproachable and takes money from your credit card even when you have voided a payment! Beware!
The rooms are depressing, dirty and freezing cold, you can not expect children and the elderly to stay in freezing cold rooms.
Although i have rated the sleeping as terrible, this is because we left as we could not have stayed 1 night at this hotel.

Room Tip: Please go and stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of Dec. I wanted a weekend break as a birthday suprise for my husband. My initial reaction on driving up to the hotel was disappointment but i had read the reviews that said the outside was a bit tatty so i held back to see if the inside was better. It is a very tired hotel but clean and the staff on the front desk were friendly. Our room was clean and basic but unfortunately it was also freezing cold. On querying with the manager about the temperature it transpires that he doesnt have the heating on all day and only in certain parts of the hotel! We said we definitely would need the heating on and he did then turn it on but it was a good three or four hours later before it was a comfortable temperature - oh and there was no radiator in the bathroom at all and so that remained really cold all weekend - that sed the shower was the hottest I have every encountered in a hotel! The room could also have done with a couple of chairs and a small table as there was nowhere to hang coats and the dressing table was full with the kettle etc. The restauarant was closed at this time of year which wasn't mentioned on the website or on the phone when I booked which was irritating but the breakfast service was polite and the breakfast itself was nice but basic and the chef seemed incapable of doing a 'soft' egg even at special request.
All in all it was an adequate hotel for the money but I would not stay there again. We have family on the island who used to own a hotel and so I know we could have got a much better quality for the price we paid.
Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for one night, the staff were very friendly and sorted out some safe parking for my motorcycle. It's a fairly basic hotel but clean and warm. The room was spotless, they had a good selection of tv channels and the bed was comfy. No complaints at all for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for four nights in november, the staff were helpful, breakfast generous and hot, service was polite and friendly, we were acknowleged every time we passed and someone was always on hand to help if needed, the room was clean and comfortable, we even accidently left our room window open when we went out and it was closed when we returned leaving the room warm and cosy, the bathroom was clean, towels were good and all was stocked well for soap, tea, coffee etc, i hate to do this as all was perfect but i have one complaint and that was that the bed was uncomfortable for me, the mattress slid off the side of the bed a little and was very noisy making a hell of a noise every time i moved, my husband did not experience the same in his twin bed, so maybe it was just mine.(i do have an ongoing shoulder problem at present) please do not let my experience put you off, they are truly lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I don't recognise this hotel from the reviews I have read. The owner was loth to put the heating on at all and we had been there for three nights when he eventually put heating on just after 8 pm despite my requesting this three times since 5.30 pm. The following evening heating was put on after 8.30, by which time we had gone to bed to watch television and keep warm. Mornings were also cold; no heating on to get showered and dressed. This was mid-October. The owner appeared to be friendly and listening but did nothing about our discomfort.

The bar had a very limited selection of drinks with the same brand of wine in red, dry white, medium dry or rose. I found mine to be very unpleasant but that may have been that it wasn't to my taste as other guests were drinking it without complaint. No alternative white was available.

The saving grace were the dining room staff who were really pleasant and gave very good service, being exempt from the service rating below. The food was also of good quality.

I would consider returning in high summer, taking my own wine but definitely not otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we stayed in this hotel 1st to 5th of oct2012, as other people have said the hotel from the outside neeeds painting, but the owner who is always around during the daytime, and very approachable has spent more time and money on the inside, our room was very good, clean in every way, and yes the beds are very firm, but they will never be to every ones liking, the food was to a standard of a 4star hotel, choice of 3 starters, 4/5 main courses, and choice of 4 sweets every night, and the meals were exceptional, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again no problems, thanks to all the staff, who were very helpfull and friendly, many thanks to you all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarvic 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.