We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT CHOICE OF ACCOMODATION.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caprera Hotel

Caprera Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Caprera Hotel to your Saves list
Caprera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Melville St., Sandown PO36 8LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT CHOICE OF ACCOMODATION.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

When we arrived at short notice at the Hotel,we were met with a warm, friendly ,welcome.The rooms were very suitable for our needs.The couple(Graham and Sally) were more than helpful and the cooked breakfasts were delicious We would recommend this Guest-House as a place to stay in Sandown.It even takes young children in it's family rooms.We found it to be clean and comfortable and we felt at ease there and fully enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Withernsea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

we were sent to this hotel by national because they had overbooked and we were supposed to be staying next door at the channel view hotel not having read the reviews (when will we learn) we thank god we were sent there this is a lovely friendly run establishment were nothing is too much trouble all the breakfasts were freshly cooked and the rooms are presented beautifully we thank your lucky stars we were sent there as next door it was disgusting please read the reviews as they are as accurate as they come.Would not hesitate to come back and use the Caprera it is really well attended to

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I found this Hotel by chance on the internet and I was very pleased that I did.
Caprera is a family run Hotel, which has very high standards and welcoming warmth.
Hospitality and attention to detail was superb.
During my half board week stay, my grandson and myself were made to feel like part of their family.
The very nice and comfortable room was cleaned and beautifully presented every day.
The food was excellent. 3 course evening meals made of fresh produce excelled at taste, variety and presentation that would match any top restaurant.
Thank you Sally & Graham
Shirley from Bolton

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Caprera hotel is averrage for someone who knows exactly what a good quality B&B, the room was expensive and small - we paid 130 pounds for 2 nights (we have only 1 child). Ther ewas hot water from time to time in the bathroom and the breakfast was not good, no real bread, a sort of coffee and a non-tasty english breakfast.
Will not go back there as there are nicest places for same money around

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Have just come back from a few days in Sandown, i had never heard of the Caprera before just found it on the internet. I was very pleasantly suprised by the fantastic location and cleanliness. The owner was lovely and served a brillant a range of breakfasts that filled me up for the day, if your looking for a quiet, friendly and affordable place to stay this has to be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caprera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprera Hotel

Address: 9 Melville St., Sandown PO36 8LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caprera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caprera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.