We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories made that will never be forgotten!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge
Save
You added Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge to your Saves list
71 Uyak Square, PO Box 123, Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge, Kodiak Island, AK 99624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sunapee, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memories made that will never be forgotten!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Leaving Kodiak and Steele was one of the hardest things my family has had to do! We had a life changing experience. We brought our two children, ages 8 and 10, and it was the trip of a lifetime. Steele was an amazing guide. What he knows about the Alaska wildlife is astounding. We spent time fishing, crabbing, bear viewing, and enjoying the beautiful scenery. The accommodations were perfect. Where else do yo get to bring home the catch of the day, prepare it, and cook it in your own kitchen! Steele was so patient with my children and taught them more in those four days about real life. Totally unplugged and having the time of our lives. We can't wait for our next adventure with Steele at Spirit of Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Mountain, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had an amazing time with Steele on our trip. Definitely an Alaska experience, comfortable settings, personalized attention, amazing scenery, hands down one of the best trips ever taken. From the fishing and crabbing available, to the scenery coupled with Steele's knowledge of the area you will have a superb experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of, Owner at Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Your one word "Amazing" sums up Spring time here in Uyak bay on Kodiak island it's like no other place. You are one of the few that has been fortunate enough to have experienced it mutable (3) times. I look forward to seeing your reaction on how incredibly different this place will be this summer on your July trip. You all will be totally amazed at how different it looks, Summer verses Spring when Green plus all the wildlife Birds, bears, whales, and fish are added in bigger numbers.
Until next time be safe and well.
Thank you, ~S~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I went to amook island for the first time in 2002 in June it was a great time. I went on a package deal and went to other plases in Alaska too. I then went back in July 2011 because it was the best experience I had and to revisit.
There were many improvements.
I plan on making another trip with my dad in another year when time permits
Sooner than later
You will not be disappointed
Steele will do what ever you want to do
The halibut and salmon is yummy

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've been to Spirit of Alaska several times, the 1st was in 1998. Each time has been a unique experience, but especially this last year when we returned as a family of 5. We had the best family vacation we could dream of. Two adults and three children, ages 16, 14 and 12--all unplugged and enjoying every minute of the location and our truly quality time together. We caught many fish (halibut, king/silver/pink and chum salmon, cod, irish lords, anenomes, dolly vardens, starfish and lots of crab in our crab pot. We jumped off the dock, searched for sand dollars, had badminton tournaments, had a blast with target shooting, viewed bears/sea lions/sea otters/deer/puffins/foxes/eagles, picked salmon berries and rhubarb for pies, had smores at the campfire, "toured" the LB cannery (really we went for the soft serve ice cream), did yoga on the porch, played cards, read books, took naps, etc. etc. The kids loved every minute and got along better with one another than ever before. We ALL can't wait to go back. The only problem with knowing the pristine beauty and perfect vacation of Spirit of Alaska is that nothing else compares. I've been backpacking through Europe, to Canada and Mexico, and many states in the "Lower 48" (we live in Kansas)--and many places that I've been have been truly incredible . . . but I haven't been anywhere that can surpass Spirit of Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is what an Alaskan adventure should be. Down to earth owner, Steele Davis, great fishing, and excellent bear viewing. Steele is great with his knowledge of all birds in the bay, and there is many species. Did I mention the Kayaking? Awesome. The view from the bunk house is Alaska, breath taking. You will never get tried of view, taking our coffee and sitting on the couch, and looking at Gods Masterpiece. Yes on the 7th day he created Alaska, and Kodiak was his gem.
Nothing better than landing your own salmon or halibut, or pulling your crab trap you laid earlier, and coming back to the bunk house and cooking your own food in a well equipped kitchen.
On Kodiak, this is the place. Do not waste your time with other operations, here you will experience ALASKA. If your are an independent minded adventurer, THIS IS YOUR PLACE

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spirit of Alaska, with Steele as your guide, will give you the Alaskan experience that you desire. He only books one group at a time so the days are filled with what you want to do and when you want to do it. I spent 4 days up there with my father this past June and had a trip with memories that will last a lifetime. Although we were up there primarily to take photos and to relax in isolated, rugged nature - both of which we did - we also caught more fish than either of us have ever caught, One afternoon, we laid down a crab trap which resulted in an evening of eating endless, freshly-boiled crab. The photos we brought back are spectacular...bald eagles staring down the camera and taking off into flight, orange-billed Puffins and various other birds, otters, and bears. We hiked one of the days and spotted a bear eating grass by the waters edge. By slowly approaching her and watching her behavior as to how threatened she felt (she didn't), we ended up getting within 25 feet from her for some incredible photos.
I thank Steele for his expertise and candor and his ability to accommodate our somewhat erratic decision-making on "what to do next"! And I am eternally grateful at his ability to know his "backyard" and for his understanding of the animals in it. He was directly responsibility for me taking some of the best photos I have ever captured!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This property is exactly as advertised. Beautiful scenery, top notch fishing and photo opportunities. You are the ONLY guests to enjoy this Alaska Experience. No crowds, just you and your guests. Each day started the same.. "Steele, can we do this today?"..... (Halibut fishing, salmon fishing, kayaking, bird watching, bear watching, cruising the bay to look at otters, whales, puffins, etc.) and the answer was always the same - SURE!! If you enjoy seclusion, the outdoors, a top notch fishing guide and naturalist, and are willing to cook your own meals (in a fully equipped kitchen with the seafood that you have just harvested) this is your place! I have been to Alaska over twenty times and this is easily the best trip that I have enjoyed. Visit the website, www.spiritofalaska.com. What you see is what you get. Really. An absolute bargain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge

Address: 71 Uyak Square, PO Box 123, Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge, Kodiak Island, AK 99624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kodiak National Wildlife Refuge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
 Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures specializes in Adventure. You get personal guided service along with flexible scheduling, this allows you to experience your ultimate Alaskan adventure the way you want. We cater towards individuals of all ages that like their vacation a little more on the adventurous wild side. Your stay includes private comfortable accommodations, air transportation from the town of Kodiak to us, plus one of the largest activity packages available anywhere. You will experience wild Alaska at its finest. Your experience includes any or all of the following activities: Photography, sport fishing, bear & wildlife viewing, kayaking, sight-seeing, whale watching, beach combing and more. Our facilities include everything you need to experience the many wonders of Alaska’s wild outdoors in a comfortable and safe environment. Unlike other so called wilderness destinations where you follow their schedule and share a dwelling and boat, at Spirit of Alaska you will be the only guests in camp for the duration of your stay. That means you have the whole camp and guide all to yourselves. Your group will be the sole inhabitants of this beautiful ocean front property. You can do what you want, when you want. No schedule, no pressure.  We provide you with a fully furnished private cabin or bunk house, boat, guide, sea kayaks, all fishing gear, bait and processing, along with many years of experience. You create your own schedule and itinerary. We are located off the beaten path in true wilderness, removed from the hustle and bustle of today's world. Our ocean front property nestled in the mountains offers spectacular beauty in a relaxed setting in the heart of Kodiak’s National Wildlife Refuge, a scenic 45-minute float plane flight from the city of Kodiak (included). We are an affordable, friendly, and informal option for adventurers who want to experience true Alaska-without the need for fancy expensive amenities. The quality of your experience is our priority. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Alaska Wilderness Adventures Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.