We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs to your Saves list
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Matauri Bay Rd, Matauri Bay, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at KC for 4 nights end of May. Wow. We loved KC. It is a spectacular place. The lodge is world class the staff are friendly proficient and so genuinely happy to look after you. The rooms are large wonderful suites with fireplaces. If you play golf, well you have just stumbled on heaven. I just could not fault this property.

You must go for a short walk to the "pink" beach .

Thank you to all of the folks at KC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Island, Hawaii
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

What's not to love? The rooms are like little villas, the views are amazing, service is superb, the golf course is gorgeous and playable, the food is great. This property gets everything right. Well, almost. We were not a fan of the "jackets required" policy at dinner, and sometimes it felt a little stuffy. But overall that's a minor complaint in an otherwise worldclass experience. We really loved the spa, perhaps the prettiest I've ever seen, which was nestled along a lovely forest walk path. We also loved the many hikes on the property. We hiked down to a beautiful beach one day past a huge, famous Kauri Tree, and back along the golf course. We played one day of course, and I played the best golf of my life. We only say one other group on the course.

Yes, it's expensive, but worth every penny. If you can go, you should.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This setting was superb, and combined with charming staff , delightful service and great food it was a first class break.The accommodation is spacious and well serviced a really enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

There is a reason Kauri Cliffs is on some of the Top Hotels of the World lists. It is luxury on a whole new level, with the most amazing staff we have ever experienced!

We saved Kauri Cliffs as the finale to our 2-week vacation to New Zealand. Both of us are in the military and we came to New Zealand straight from our tour in Afghanistan. We would be leaving to go back for another four months. We wanted our last day and night to be phenomenal to give us memories that would sustain us over those next four months; we were not disappointed.

When we arrived, the staff greeted us cheerfully and did not even bat an eye at our attire. We are normally decked out in hiking garb and find that we are often looked down the nose at when we check in to plush places. Kauri Cliffs did not seem to care what we were wearing; I was impressed.

We were whisked in to the main house and greeted by the manager, who took us on a tour of the gorgeous grounds and spa. The best part about check in is you do not have to mess with a single bit of paperwork. It is all handled at check out.

When we arrived at our room, we learned we were given a complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe Suite. The room was perfection and the bed was heaven. We took a moment to enjoy and settle in, and then grabbed a Go-cart to explore the property. We are not avid golfers but that did not matter. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. It just seemed as if we were staying at a place with a very large manicured lawn.

There is plenty to do on the property to keep you busy, from their three beaches, waterfall hike, Kauri tree, ATV rides, etc…oh and not to mention a round of golf.

Dinner is absolutely phenomenal! As it was our last night, we requested the private dining option on the porch of the main house apart from the other guests. It was a dream! The service was impeccable and the fare was the best we have ever had.

We enjoyed the next day with a very late check out, again thanks to the manager, which allowed me to enjoy the spa (exceptional!) while my husband took in a round of golf.

The only downside to a stay here is they do not have air-conditioning in the rooms or main house. I do not think this is normally an issue but during our stay, it was unusually warm, so much so that they did not require the men to wear their sport jackets with dinner. They do have ceiling fans in the room, which help, but if you like it a bit cool, you may have trouble sleeping.

Overall, our stay at Kauri Cliffs was everything we hope for and more. I would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for an amazing, romantic, beautiful, and scrumptious experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Kauri Cliffs is an incredible resort overlooking the Bay of Islands on the North Island. Suites are beautifully appointed, set-off from the main lodge, and all with fireplaces, sitting area, his and her bathroom areas, and outstanding views. Service is beyond compare from the moment you arrive. We were presented with coffee, tea, and cookies while we checked in. Evening cocktails on the deck with other guests is a special feature before dinner. Dining is five-star, and we were particularly impressed with the polite and knowledgable sommelier. Management and staff know you by name, and see to your every need. Golf is incredible, and we didn't see more that a few other groups on the entire course, which has some of the best views in the world. Other activities include a private tour of the farm, hikes, and four-wheel tours of the over 2000 acre property. This is a special place for special people who have plenty of cash they can part with at check-out., as Kauri Cliffs is also one of the most expensive places you will ever stay at. With only twenty-two rooms, it has the feel of your own private country club. Note, unlike other NZ hotels and lodges where GST is included, the management at Kauri Cliffs adds it on at the end, representing an additional 15%.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I had been on business in Australia and I was on the way back to Canada. I was on my own, but I thought that it would be good to visit here. Well- I am so very very glad that I did! I arranged my flight etc so that I could be here for 3 nights. It is one of the most beautiful places around in the world!!! I had my own `villa`- which was gorgeous- and with a spectacular view of the ocean and cliffs. The resort is set on thousands of acres- so it is very private- exclusive and totally superb! There are many walks you can take on the property- plus one of the best golf courses in the world is right on the property. I played it and it is amazing! The meals were incredible- the wine steward was so knowledgeable- and the manager was absoluely the best! There was a whale and calf in the next cove- and the manager drove me there so that I could see it. How many places in the world would that happen! It is a Relais Chateux and I have stayed at a number of them- but this was the best hotel for service-food-facilities-and absolute incredible. This is one of the best resorts in the world!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I keep saying this in my reviews but this is once again one of the finest resort properties I have ever stayed in. It seems extraordinary expensive and it is, but the stay will convince you that it is worth it.

The owner is retired hedge fund billionaire from New York who bought an entire cattle property on the east coast of the North Island just north of the Bay of Islands because he wanted to build a golf course there. And what a spectacular course it is: superbly maintained, interesting and a real challenge, whichever of the five tees you use. The pro shop is superbly organised and you realise the $NZ400 per round when you find you have the course to yourself and everything is done for you, down to cleaning your clubs ready for the return journey through Australian quarantine.

Having built the course and country club, he added accommodation – of the same standard. From memory, Kauri Cliffs can accommodate 50 or 60, in a series of spacious duplex bungalows with low impact environment friendly profiles. Each bungalow has a huge open plan bedroom sitting area with an open fireplace with views over the golf course to the ocean. There is also a spacious dressing room and an enormous bathroom. Decoration is tasteful and understated with a nod to local materials and tradition.

The resort keeps an excellent table at the clubhouse with fine dining on a changing seasonal menu each night, casual lunches and brilliant breakfasts, which are best taken on the balcony looking south to the Bay of Islands. The excellent food is complemented with an outstanding list of New Zealand wine, which we slowly worked our way through on the four evenings of our visit guided by a knowledgeable sommelier.

The staff were attentive, professional and welcoming from the moment of our arrival till the day of our departure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs

Address: Matauri Bay Rd, Matauri Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matauri Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the far north of New Zealand lies an unspoiled peninsula. High cliffs and a few ranches on this welcoming island which won the hearts of Julian and Josie Robertson. After designing a magnificent 18-hole golf course, the couple created a splendid colonial residence with outlying cottages. Space is the real luxury, the suite an apartment, the bathroom a spa. The epitome of refinement in a distant corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Matauri Bay
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Kerikeri
Kauri Cliffs Kerikeri
The Lodge At Kauri Cliffs New Zealand/Matauri Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.