We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oaktree Lodge - great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaktree Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oaktree Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaktree Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Whitley Bay
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Oaktree Lodge - great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Agree with Barbara H and Bonnie F. Clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast but the clincher is the friendliness of the team there and how accomodating they were to us. Very friendly towards families but do check because at the time we went they didn't have cots or high chairs - as we were forewarned we took our own cot and there was plenty of space in the room we were in to set it up (room 5).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
36
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This B & B was clean and comfortable; the breakfast using organic produce was delicious and the host was very helpful with directions and such. I highly recommend the Oaktree Lodge. We chose the location for its proximity to the North Sea and to the start of Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night in preparation for walking Hadrian's Wall Path. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is great. It is just short walk from the Metro. The owner was friendly and provided us with a great breakfast. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our Hadrian's Way walk for 1 night. The greeting was warm and friendly and the owner took our heavy cases to our room which is very unusual as we normally are expected to lug them up ourselves. We were given a recommendation on where to dine which was very useful.
The room was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling with toiletries, tissues, hairdrier, herbal teas with the tea making facilities and shoe cleaning kit.
Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and cooked options. Being vegetarian I was offered a meat substitute which is not that common but very welcome.
I highly recommend this guest house and had a wonderfully comfortable say here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Oaktree Lodge Hotel is a superb place to stay. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It is clean and has great amenities. Situated in a quiet street it is still right in the heart of things with the metro just literally up the road. Breakfast was great. More than i could eat. The family cat was lovely (Figaro also known as Flossy!) who really took a shine to us... we shall miss you... Cannot recommend the hotel enough. Helen and Dad

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugeley
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Oaktree Lodge and really can't fault it. Superb location in very quiet street but only two minutes from Metro and seafront. The bedroom was smart and comfortable, matching hangers! a nice shower and good facilities. The breakfast was one off the best I've had with the right portion size and real quality meat. A delight to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a very pleasant two nights stay here in April. We were greeted warmly by Andrew the owner who was very friendly and accommodating. We were in the area to celebrate my girlfriend’s birthday and to do some cycling up and down the coast. The National Cycle Route 1 (Sustrans - Coast and Castles South) passes right by Whitley Bay and we had a lovely ride up to Bedlington following the coast, 25 miles return. The route is flat so would be great for families. Anyway back to the accommodation. We found the hotel to be spotless and warm and with a great bar area on the ground floor. Andrew was happy for us to store our bikes inside and he even treated us to some drinks on the house to celebrate Nikki’s birthday. All in all a great stay made even more pleasant by the friendly owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaktree Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaktree Lodge Hotel

Address: 15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaktree Lodge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaktree Lodge – Whitley Bay – 4 STAR SILVER Award - ETC btreakfast Award - Green Tourism - Silver Award Highly Recommended across all review sights and is the perfect Guest Accommodation for business or leisure, situated in a quiet central location in sight of the scenic Northumberland coast As well as contemporary bedrooms, equipped with En-suite bathroom, TV, Hairdryer, Tea/coffee facilities Onsite facilities include Free Wi-Fi, Lounge/BarA full English breakfast using local organic produce is included and daily packed lunches are also available along with evening meals by pre orderExperience this beautiful seaside resort, located just minutes to start of Hadrians wall and the end of Coast to CoastDiscounted Playhouse tickets available to Guests of Oaktree Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oaktree Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaktree Hotel Whitley Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaktree Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.