We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedburgh Hotel to your Saves list
The Chedburgh Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Esplanade, Whitley Bay, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Whitley Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for my mates stag weekend. Prior to arriving I wasn't expecting much as I was of the opinion that if they accept stag parties then it wouldn't be up to much. However, on arriving that opinion soon changed. The place is extremely clean and modern for a B&B and just of the main strip so it's both convenient and quiet (we stayed in one of the front rooms and even that was quiet). I would happily recommend the Chedburgh to a friend and wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    2
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
13
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed at the Chedburgh Hotel recently and really enjoyed staying here. Clean and tidy rooms with a contemporary décor. I had the pleasure of staying in the best room in the hotel (room 4) so make sure you get this one if you can. I also stayed in another room there which was smaller but yet still well equipped and again clean and tidy. I didn't have the breakfast there so I can't comment on that but if the breakfasts were as good as the rooms then you'll be on to a winner. The people that have left bad comments/opinions must give it another chance as I was very pleased overall with standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here for a girlie weekend. I think the reviews further down are a tad harsh. The hotel was clean and Louise was really friendly and accommodating and even said we could use her straightners if we had forgotten ours. The rooms are a little small but at the end of the day we only slep there. Most people going to Whitley Bay are in big groups and use the hotel as a base. If you want a posh hotel.... pay for one. This is £30 a night and the breakfast is gorgeous. Louise works really hard there and always has a smile on her face. We have stayed in the Rex in Whitley before and there was puke on the carpet from the previous guests.... the Chedburgh was lovely and clean....... x

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Recently stayed in the Chedburgh Hotel in Whitley Bay over the easter weekend 02.04.10 in a lads lets get smashed weekend!
The location is excellent – 1 street away from all the bars and a 1 min walk into the centre for cash machines etc… Whilst its only 1 street away from the bars and clubs, there was no noise at all so a good nights sleep could be had.
The rooms are small but clean. Whilst the tv didn’t work in the room, it wasn’t too much of an issue for this trip as its was a drinking weekend. The tv is my mates room worked though. The beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast the following morning was served and was quality food. The service was excellent as well.
When you’re paying £30 per person for the night you cant argue! I checked this website before going and didn’t experience anything that the bad reviews mentioned. I would stay here again if I was heading up to Whitley Bay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Arriving Friday afternoon on a stag do, we were met by the friendly owners, who checked us in quickly and efficiently - as you can imagine 20 lads can sometime be a little boisterous, and it was taken all in good spirits. All of the rooms were clean and as described on the website, and after having spoken with a few people who had been elsewhere in Whitley Bay we were very lucky to be a) so close to the bars, and b)in a place which was clean, well presented and offered all we wanted at a very reasonable price. The rooms offered flat screen TV and sky. Excellent. The breakfast was top notch and just what was required after a Friday and Saturday sampling a few of Whitley Bays finest establishments. I would wholeheartedly recommend you stay at the Chedburgh if you are in Whitely Bay.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I can not believe some of the reviews I am reading. I have stayed at this hotel twice before with groups of friends and this time I stayed with my girlfriend (who is very hard to please!!) and each time we have found it great. The rooms have always been clean and tidy, it is in a great location-about 2 mins away from the town centre and beach(and about 1 min away from the pubs!) The food has always been of a good standard and the young couple who run the hotel are lovely and very very helpfull.The lady who wrote `the war & piece` review below should take note of my title because you get what you pay for, this hotel is great value for the price but if you expect the world pay £150 a night to stay at the Hylton!!!!! I would def.recommend this hotel and will be staying again next time I am in the North East.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed in the Chedburgh with a group of friends for my birthday weekend and I would find it hard to fault the place. Cant beleive some of the harsh reviews. It was exactly what we needed. The rooms were clean and very trendy and the owners Paul and Louise were lovely. Breakfast was nice. I would deffinatly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedburgh Hotel

Address: 12 Esplanade, Whitley Bay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chedburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star contemporary styled accommodation located in the centre of Whitley Bay. Sky Sports channels, Free WiFi, DVD players, complimentary beverage tray and en-suite rooms are all available. Full English breakfast is served daily. Offers & discounts on accommodation are available. The best B&B you'll find in Whitley Bay for the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chedburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedburgh Hotel Whitley Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.