We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will only get better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaton Delaval Hall

Seaton Delaval Hall
Seaton Delaval | Seaton Sluice, Whitley Bay NE26 4QR, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Whitley Bay
Attraction details
North East
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This will only get better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

National Trust acquired this and are treating it as a living restoration project. It's quite basic at the moment, but worth returning to as the NT does more and more to it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    83
    32
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really enjoyed Seaton Deleval Hall. I have been a few times now and it is lovely in the summer when the garden looks its best. Staff here are very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good find on the door step without too much travel. However, meals were provided in a rather tight space and did not offer a great variety. Food was average but wholesome - a little expensive on top of the entry charge! Picnics may represent a better value for money and the kids can move around as much as they like. The seating arrangements in the gardens were great as it sheltered you from the wind but more seating would have been better. An altogether great experience with an abundance of history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Small and interesting site. Was derelict for quite a while and part burned down a number of year ago.
Gardens are lovely even in winter months. small cafe relocated whilst stable being roofed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Autumn walk with 3 young children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We are national trust members and this is our nearest property. We had a few hours to spare so thought we'd have a walk around the gardens. I designed a nature trail for the kids.

The gardens are lovely and varied and certainly kept my children amused. We enjoyed hunting for pine cones, mushrooms and different leaves amongst other things. The staff that were dotted around were really helpful and welcoming and gave us some hints on where to find certain items on our list.

There was also a small maze, sone peacocks and a small wooden adventure playground which the children enjoyed.

The cafe is closed for refurbishment so we stopped for a drink in the resources hut. The service was friendly, I did find the price of £15 for 5 toasted teacakes, 3 cartons of juice and 2 hot drinks to be a bit on the expensive side though (a pack of 6 teacakes costs less than £1).

All in all however, we thoroughly enjoyed our couple of hours stroll through the gardens and would definitely go again whatever the weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaton Delaval Hall also viewed

 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Seaton Delaval Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaton Delaval Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.