We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will only get better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaton Delaval Hall

Seaton Delaval Hall
Seaton Delaval | Whitley bay, Whitley Bay NE26 4QR, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 things to do in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
North East
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This will only get better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

National Trust acquired this and are treating it as a living restoration project. It's quite basic at the moment, but worth returning to as the NT does more and more to it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    67
    27
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really enjoyed Seaton Deleval Hall. I have been a few times now and it is lovely in the summer when the garden looks its best. Staff here are very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good find on the door step without too much travel. However, meals were provided in a rather tight space and did not offer a great variety. Food was average but wholesome - a little expensive on top of the entry charge! Picnics may represent a better value for money and the kids can move around as much as they like. The seating arrangements in the gardens were great as it sheltered you from the wind but more seating would have been better. An altogether great experience with an abundance of history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Small and interesting site. Was derelict for quite a while and part burned down a number of year ago.
Gardens are lovely even in winter months. small cafe relocated whilst stable being roofed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Autumn walk with 3 young children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We are national trust members and this is our nearest property. We had a few hours to spare so thought we'd have a walk around the gardens. I designed a nature trail for the kids.

The gardens are lovely and varied and certainly kept my children amused. We enjoyed hunting for pine cones, mushrooms and different leaves amongst other things. The staff that were dotted around were really helpful and welcoming and gave us some hints on where to find certain items on our list.

There was also a small maze, sone peacocks and a small wooden adventure playground which the children enjoyed.

The cafe is closed for refurbishment so we stopped for a drink in the resources hut. The service was friendly, I did find the price of £15 for 5 toasted teacakes, 3 cartons of juice and 2 hot drinks to be a bit on the expensive side though (a pack of 6 teacakes costs less than £1).

All in all however, we thoroughly enjoyed our couple of hours stroll through the gardens and would definitely go again whatever the weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaton Delaval Hall also viewed

 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Seaton Delaval Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaton Delaval Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.