We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Needing Upgrade” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rex Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rex Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Whitley Bay
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Tired and Needing Upgrade”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Firstly, at the price the rooms are available for, don't expect a four or even 3 star experience. This hotel I suspect, mainly caters for young singles staying over on party nights or travelling tradespeople who happen to be working in the area.

The fact that remotes for the TV require a £10 deposit (due to them being stolen) may give you an idea of past clientele.

And then the is the dreaded nightclub on the ground floor, directly below the bedrooms. The music pumps out until 3am on Sundays. Probably other nights as well. Unfortunately I booked the hotel in a hurry as I needed accommodation in the area at late notice and at a low price and did not have time to check reviews prior to booking. Had I done so I would probaly have tried elsewhere.

The room I had was on said first floor on the inside of the building with a window looking into the light well. The bathroom was similar although not as bad as some of the photos posted by users. The floor had been retiled at some point with the floor level dropping leaving a 2-3cm gap to the mozaic tiles on the wall. Due to the way the cistern was boxed in the loo seat would not stay upright on its own (a pet hat of mine).

This was also a smoking room and apart from yellowing paint, there was only a slight stale smell. Being a non-smoker I found it bearable. Since no other rooms were available I requested some air freshener which the staff were happy to provide. Peeling wall paper and cracks in the wall all show the tired state of the building.

However the bed, linen, towels, carpet and fixtures were all clean. Tea and coffee facilities were provided as were vending machines for snacks and canned drinks in the main lobby.

The female receptionist was pleasant and helpful.

There is limited off street parking at the front of the hotel and some of the side streets nearby are permit only so finding a reasonably safe place to park may be a problem.

Breakfast was nothing fancy; the usual fare of cerials, fruit juices and cooked to order items, presented politely and efficiently by the serving staff.

Excluding the night club which left me with only 2 1/2 hrs sleep, the hotel suited my purpose (just) as a place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a room on the third (top) floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitleyBayHotel, Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
A reply has just been submitted should read ' i am unable to reply'. Word missing, please amend or return.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    25
    28
    59
See reviews for
21
28
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Came here for a night out with friends and had a very enjoyable stay. Friendly staff, clean room, well appointed (albeit a little tired). Bar area was nice and the breakfast delicious and filling! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitleyBayHotel, Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and delighted you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived to be told by Reception that the room wasn't paid for... not sure if this was a mistake on the Hotels part or by lastminute.com, however I knew the money had left my bank account, yet I was being asked to pay again... after proving the money had left my bank account I was given a key.

The room was very spacious, the view from the window looking out the front over the sea was fantastic, the room was clean, but if anything a little dated and shabby in places, but overall good.

Breakfast was Excellent, and the Service good.

HOWEVER!
The fact anyone in there right mind thought they could have a full on Night Club within a Hotel is beyond me, at the weekend the noise starts about 10pm and finishes at 3pm. The music vibrates throughout the whole hotel.

The chap on reception told us the next day that more often than not people stay one night and don't come back... I can fully see why.

Considering no one staying in the hotel can sleep in until gone 3am, the fact breakfast was serviced at 7am seemed a little ridiculous too.

If it wasn't for the noise at night this would have been a very pleasant stay, someone needs to decide if this is a Respectable Hotel or a Nightclub and stick to just one idea!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitleyBayHotel, Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your response, staff geatly appreciated your positive comments about the Hotel. Unfortunately Management and staff have no control over the noise generated from the nightclub, which I fully accept, can be a great disturbance to guests not participating in the late night dance scene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed at the Rex August 9/10 booked before we read bad comments on Tripadvisor but we had a great two nights before moving on to Alnwick . Had a spacious room overlooking the sea front .clean and nicely decorated\furnished . Breakfast was good .as were the staff . Hotel has two bars . one of which closed early . and a nightclub .though we could hear the music it did'nt keep us awake . will definately return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitleyBayHotel, Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not worth the money you pay it's £70 for a double room and the rooms are absolutely disgusting. Our rooms had not been cleaned the bathroom floor was dirty there was what looked like jam smeared on the walls and ceiling only good thing was the sheets were clean. Whitley bay itself i found to be quite rough the hotel was near to the pubs and there was a nightclub in the hotel that went on till 3am. All in all would not stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitleyBayHotel, Manager at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Sorry to read your comment, I would be grateful if you would inform me which room you stayed in please.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked on line for a 1 night stay 5/8/2013 we payed before even seeing the room, once in the room we stayed all of 5 min, rooms smelt, beds were cheap and slanted, head boards was filthy, there was cornflakes all over the floor, the furniture was destroyed, it was stated as being furnished to a high standard, certainly not the case, we refused to stay and asked for a refund, we was told we had to cancel through the company who advertise it CentralR.com to try and claim a refund,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Staff were friendly but in efficient, although bed was clean and comfortable the plaster was coming off the wall the windows in the bathroom were mouldy and also around the bath
Only decent thing the breakfast, The hotel was like the rest of Whitley Bay run down

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar. The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been a total overhaul of the entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open Thursday – Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM – 3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town’s amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Whitley Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.