We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“groupon deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“groupon deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

got a 3 night groupon deal b&b which was good value and we always wanted to explore Northumberland, the hotel is nice and clean and the room was very nice also, what we didn't realise was we were directly over the night club which opened till 2am whist the one across the street opened till 3am, needless to say we didn't get any sleep the first night. We asked if we could change rooms and the staff could not have been more helpful and put us in a much larger room at the back of the hotel.
I have nothing but praise for the staff on reception and the quality of the rooms however 2 things let the hotel down, the restaurant and the bar. At breakfast it was a buffet and you could order a cooked breakfast however you had to make your own toast which took forever in one of those conveyor toasters, trying to co-ordinate the toast to arrive at the same time as the food was impossible, either the toast was ready first then was cold when breakfast arrived or the toast wasn't ready whilst the breakfast went cold. When the breakfast arrived the bacon and the sausage were pink, it looked like they had been warmed through in a bain-marie and cooked in their own steam, the fat on the bacon was still white so the next day I asked for well done and it was overcooked, the sausage was still inedible and didn't taste like high meat content so next day I asked for 2 poached eggs, one was perfect the other was clearly not fresh and the yolk and the white were completely separate on the plate I cannot believe the chef allowed this to go out or that the waitress served it to me, I sent it back and got no apology or even asked why. My final gripe was that the only coffee available was Nescafe instant which I dislike, they even have a proper coffee machine but apparently don't use it at breakfast only in the evening, anyway onto the pub in the hotel, we couldn't understand why all the bars across the street where packed whilst we were the only 2 people in the bar, we soon found out why.
They don't sell any ale just John Smiths draught, they don't sell any Irish whisky and they only sell 2 wines, a medium red and a medium white so don't ask for a Malbec or a Tempranillo or a dry white, across the street the bars had 30-40 people sitting outside have a drink I would have thought it have occurred to the owners why that was. The only saving grace for the bar was that it sold much the same food as the restaurant (from the same kitchen) but about 40% less, but having had such a bad experience at breakfast we decided to give it a miss.
My opinion is that the hotel caters for stag and hen party's and we should have checked more thoroughly before we booked, as I said I cannot fault the accommodation and frankly for £40 a night I suppose we shouldn't complain so make your own mind up

Room Tip: if you don't want to be kept awake all night ask for a room overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    45
    18
    26
See reviews for
44
81
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton on tees, england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay on Booking.com and got a very good rate. We booked in quite late at night and Dan (the night receptionist) said he was not happy to let us have the room we had been allocated as it was over a "disco". He said he would transfer us to a quieter room - he did and it was! However it was very warm - but a fan was provided instantly. The service here cannot be faulted. Breakfast was extra and cost £8.25, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is located in a run down area of Whitley Bay. parking was free and easy.On entering the hotel you can see that it requires updating in my opinion. the receptionist was very helpful and informative about the local area.On our way to the room the banister rail was not secure and could be a problem to children.The carpets were in urgent need of attention.The room was basic with an En Suit.At night the noise from the refrigeration plant was constant.The breakfast as with dinner was good.All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only came here for a meal on a deal. I was very pleasantly surprised the restaurant was nicely laid out and clean. The food was very good we had the fish and chips my only comment would be the batter was a little soft (oil not hotter enough). However I did see other dishes that look very nice so I will be returning to try other dishes.

Room Tip: Don't go late on a night on a fri or sat unless you like walking past loud drunks. come here dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent position, close to everything we wanted to do. Very clean and comfortable. Great staff, super friendly. Can be a little noisy at night but that didn't bother us. Lots do do here and very busy. Loved and certainly will come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chose the wrong time to visit Tyneside as it was the Pitmen's Derby weekend and all the 'budget' hotels were full. As a consequence I paid £124 for two nights in a double room overlooking the main clubbing street in the town. Music from the club below stops at 3am then revelers spill out onto the streets so had very little sleep. And this hotel is just yards from a residential street.
Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the food.
Everything about the hotel, and town for that matter, is tired. Our toilet flusher had to be pumped three times to achieve a flush which seemed to be considered normal when I reported the matter. Friendly young staff did their best.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Windsor this weekend. Rooms were fine. Clean on arrival and cleaned daily with fresh towels, beds made etc. Location of the hotel is convenient for everything but is on the main bar Street so very noisy at night. The room was very hot too but couldn't open the windows due to the noise of people on the street outside until early hours of the morning. Also others in our group were in rooms over the night club attached to the hotel which was open until 3. Apparently it sounded like the disco was in their shower room. Reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. We had a buffet done by the hotel for our hen party group which was very nice too. Unfortunately breakfast was a different story. Staff were very inattentive. Had to ask twice to get them to take our order. Had to get our own cutlery by leaning over the bar because we got fed up of waiting for a knife to butter our toast. Both mornings they ran out of plates for the toast, glasses for juice, cups for tea and hardly any available tables because they are not cleaned until someone asks to sit down. Overall mixed feelings about my stay at the Windsor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.