We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighthouse Whitley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lighthouse Guesthouse to your Saves list
Lighthouse Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lighthouse Whitley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very very nice B and B, very friendly and kind. There always making sure your comfy and happy, they made the best breakfast I've ever had in my life. The rooms are very nice and really comfy. It's a 2 min walk to the beach, rooms are very well decorated. I would recommend this B and B to any body ! I will be coming back again just to enjoy the B and B. 10/10 from me

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice clean and tidy. staff very nice and friendly rooms are very nice and worth every penny, knowledgeable about the area would defiantly recommend and will be back to stay again. Also very nice area only 20 seconds from the beach perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Lighthouse is a very Clean and tidy guesthouse with warm rooms and a good breakie.
Finding good clean accom in Whitley bay isn't as easy as you'd think, and I did my homework on this site beforehand-thank god I did. My colleagues who saved a couple of quid to stay at another guesthouse, had to sleep in their clothes due to the state of sheets-I kid you not.
No such probs here really nice people and Jerry is a lovely chatty host where nothing is a problem and my room was fine. There's some upgrade work going on so it will be even better soon!

If i'm in the area i will def be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our room in the Lighthouse Guesthouse was perfect for our needs on our short visit to Newcastle. Jerry was a very friendly authentic 'Jordie' with lots of stories to tell. He was a really attentive host and made sure that everything we needed was provided for.

The service includes a fantastic full English breakfast with very tasty orange juice and coffee.

The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of towels, free hot drinks in the room, a TV and sound system and an en-suite bathroom. The shower even had a build-in radio!

Jerry worked around our schedule without a problem and was very flexible with our requests for breakfast as well as check-in / check-out times.

The Lighthouse Guesthouse is right by the sea and Whitley Bay itself was lovely even though we didn't have time to explore too much. It is just a 5 minute walk from the Whitley Bay metro station too for direct trains to Central Station in Newcastle City Center (duration about 30 minutes).

The local taxi firm has a set price of 11.50 for pick-up and drop-off in Newcastle center at any time of day or night, which came in really useful for us as we were coming back late at night.

I'd definitely come back and I would recommend others to stay here. It was great value for our money.

Thanks Jerry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We try hard to ensure our guests needs are attended to and you enjoy your stay at the Lighthouse Guesthouse.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the future
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to stay hear on the 16th off feb with 2 more off my freinds when we arrived gerry wad there to meet us his wife was up stairs putting some last min touches to our room we were very happy with hole place it was like walking in to your own home as it was very welcoming we could not say anything bad about the place at all so i would defo tell people to go and we will defo be back very verysoon thanks again for a lovely stay the wakefeild girls xxx

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

While staying in Whitley Bay for some time after starting a new job, I was very glad to find this gem of a B&B. The rooms are clean, cosy and well appointed, and the welcome is second to none.
This is how a seaside guesthouse should be run, and Jerry and Margaret should be proud of their establishment.
I would heartily recomend the Lighthouse to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePtarmiganScotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is indeed a challenge to find good places to stay when you are travelling on business - even regardless of the budget you are on.

I can charge my clients £200 for accom per night+, but choose not to - as I have found quality, quirky, friendly and warm guest houses at £30 - £60 are so much better than the surprisingly poor quality hotels you find in the UK.

The Lighthouse Guest House in Whitley Bay certainly earns the friendly warm and quirky badge - and actually, the quality one too.

Gerry and Margaret run it. Gerry is a retired builder...except he has not retired. He is steadily and with great industry, upgrading the guesthouse to each room that can be converted to full, luxury en suite with LED tvs and all mod cons, plus great comfortable beds, free Wifi etc etc.

Many rooms are now at this very high standard, very individual, very quirky, but they are great to stay in. Water pressure in the whole house is poor at present, but somehow I suspect Gerry is looking into fitting a Stuart-Turner system soon.

But it is a work in progress, so the corridors and stairs are bare floorboards (but you have a square of carpet outside each door!). This might be a bit of a shock, but let it not dissuade you. I presume it is not your intention to sleep in the corridor. Inside your room is very comfortable and clean.

The guest house caters for all visitors, contractors, uk tourists, business travellers and foreign visitors. Read some of the reviews to get the flavour.

The house is warm, heating is on early. You can park in their 2 car car park if you get early or on the street outside easily. They have a wee bar, more of a beer fridge really, but you might really appreciate a cold beer after a hard day. Breakfast is good quality, hearty and freshly cooked from early-stupid-o'clock to late-ish, big TV in the Breakfast room. Card payments taken.

Gerry is a really nice, talkative host, with stories to tell. This is what really makes staying in a place like this - it is the closest to "coming home" that you can get on a trip.

Even with all the quirks and lack of carpets, if you want a home from home north of the river in the NE, this is it.

If you found this review helpful, please click on the "helpful?" icon

Room Tip: Ask for refurb en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
thanks Brian for the nice comment on trip advisor, it is always a pleasure to look after you when you are in the area. Have a good Christmas and look forward to seeing you in 2013

Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Guesthouse

Address: 20 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast with free wifi, free parking, also a small bar; not far to town centre and transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lighthouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.