We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunholme Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunholme Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1NX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short and sweet. The place was perfect. Modern, clean, spacious, great value, and the owners we very friendly. They make you feel right at home and will do everything they can in order to make you stay perfect. Unfortunately I was here while working long hours in the area, but I will definitely be back with the girlfriend or lads night out. If you are staying in Whitley bay and can get a room here then do so. Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe1Wull2, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to go on trip advisor and writing such a lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Take Care

Kindest Regards

Maureen William
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
13
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Absolutley brilliant weekend!! Thankyou Maureen you were fab as always!! We are always treated like family Maureen and William are a right laugh, they really look after you we go back year after year we love it. They are fantastic hosts and very friendly. The beds are the comfiest I have ever slept in we wouldnt get up if it werent for the scrummy breakfasts!! Its a minute walk to the beach, a 3 minute walk to the shops and a minute walk to the first of many pubs!! Definately recommend Sunholme to everyone its the best place i have ever stayed its very very clean,Clean linen and towels are provided and the use of the iron and ironing board. Tea & coffee in the rooms most have en suites. Love it love it love it!!! Just have to add we accidently spilled something on the floor and asked Maureen for a dustpan and brush and she actually offered to clean it up for us!!! how great is she!! We didnt let her of course! When we were leaving we asked if we could leave our cases as our train wasnt until late afternoon it wasnt a problem and when we went back for them we used the facilities and we were offered a cupa too!! Wish all accomadations had a Maureen and William!! Fantastic guys keep it up & thankyou yet again for a fabulous weekend. Wendy, Amanda, Tink and Val

Room Tip: there is a bedroom at the top of the house for 6 people, if you go with friends its a fab room for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Gosh you are like old friends. We Love it when you phone up to book.

Hopefully see you in December when you come to do some Christmas Shopping.


Kindest Regards

William Maureen
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The other reviews are spot on - first class B&B with good attention to details that make the difference. A group of us cycling the C2C & Reivers routes and stayed here mid June for one night in the top floor family room . Maureen and William were most welcoming, greeting us with tea and Kit-Kats, offering to dry our clothes and generally making us feel relaxed. Room and other shared bathrooms were clean, comfortable and they obviously take pride in their business and interest in their guests. They even accommodated for a gluten-free diet with no notice and then recommended a great italian restaurant around the corner which also was gluten-free friendly (Michelino's). Breakfast was very good as well (we chose kippers on toast - not many places offer you full english or kippers!) and home made jam & marmalade. So definitely recommended and thank you to Maureen and William.

Room Tip: Top floor family room had 5 singles, great value for groups / families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to go on trip advisor.

We are always surprised when our guests say not many B&B's have Fish on the Menu.
We love having the B&B and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.

Hopefully see you again soon.

Much Appreciated

Kindest Regards
William Maureen
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

When I phoned the Sunholme Guest House to make a booking I was greeted politely by Maureen; as I had a complex booking I needed to phone back a few times with queries and each time Maureen answered my questions efficiently, politely and with patience. When we arrived at the guest house we were given a warm welcome by Maureen and William and offered a cup of tea whilst we signed in. We were given our key to the room and popped upstairs to check it out. We found our room to be spotlessly clean, with plenty of space (enough to swing a cat, had we have had the forethought to bring ours with us). The room had TV, DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and, although powdered milk was provided we were offered fresh chilled milk from the dining room as and when we required it. The room was light and airy, with fresh linen and towels, ensuite shower and sink. There were three single beds provided in the room, which had a nice sea view.

We were served a full English breakfast at a pre-arranged time in the morning. This was accompanied with fruit juice, toast, a selection of cereals and jams, and fresh hot coffee.

Without doubt, I would recommend this guest house to friends and family and it offers exceptional value and quality. Maureen and William should be commended for their hospitality and eye for detail.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great sea view and three single beds with ensuite. It is a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
This was really good of you to take the time to go on trip adviser.

Your comments are very much appreciated. x

We are so glad you had a lovely weekend and we hope to see you again soo.

Kindest Regards

Maureen & William
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived for 2 nights on friday and could check in straight away.We had the rules all sorted out quickly and keys and out on it.Does and donts like you would expect any nice house to have. Total oppostite to our last stay.The rooms were very clean and bright all facilites were great and clean.
Breakfast was very good and set you up for the day.The stag party fully enjoyed there stay and didnt disrupt the other guests.Very highly recommended.
Thanks very much Maureen and William for allowing us into your home
Dave

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to go on trip adviser. x

You are a lovely group of lads and we are so glad you had such a great weekend.

Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Maureen William
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Sunholme guest house is without a doubt the best place to stay in Whitley bay. I'm a contractor staying there long term and have tried the rest and believe me they don't come close to the Sunholme. The rooms are modern, bright well furnished, very comfortable and kept immaculate. You have wifi access through the virgin superhub the food is excellent and the room rates very reasonable for such high quality. Nothing is to much trouble for Maureen and William they are very friendly, helpful and brilliant hosts. If your in the area to visit the coast, work or shop in Newcastle i fully recommend the Sunholme.

Room Tip: Just pick up the phone Maureen will is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to go on Trip Adviser.
Thank you.
We are so happy you are enjoying your stay with us.

Kindest Regards
Maureen William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This Guest House has excellent facilities. It is clean, welcoming and the food excellent. Nothing is to much trouble for Maureen and Willie, brilliant hosts. Our room was bright and very comfortable. We recommend Sunholme and will certainly stay again when in Whitley Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunholme Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Thank you.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Kindest Regards

Maureen William
Sunholme Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunholme Guest House

Address: 53 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1NX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunholme Guest House 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunholme Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunholme Guest House to your Saves list