We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere & child friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelino's

Michelino's
54 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE262RQ, England
0191 2517800
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 119 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, atmosphere & child friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. The owner is regularly there & welcomes guests warmly. Very friendly atmosphere and food is traditional and tasty. They have a good affordable wine selection and we are now "regulars"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    33
    19
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I highly recommend this place; it has a great ambience, a really smart interior, good staff and above all else in a restaurant excellent food and great value for money; I had the early bird three course meal and paid £8.50 for three courses and left feeling extremely satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Been coming to this establishment for about a year now at least once a fortnight and can say the service and the food has never failed to deliver every time is first class would recommend to anyone that asked for the best place to eat out in the area I would say this place every time the owners have got something special here and long may it continue 10/10 every time

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We got recomended this place from our new friends at the avalon hotel just up the road and what a great recomendation it turned out to be.
we had a party of 6 with 3 bottles of wine, various bottled lager and 6 mains and the bill only came to £107.
Great value normally means missin out a bit on quality but this was not the case here as we all agreed to this being our new favourite restaurant. The food was exellent the service was quick and v.good.
Don't miss out on this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and value but a smile and a bit of banter with the waitresses wouldn't have gone amiss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent and great value for money too. Starter and a main all for £7ish. Came to no more than £10 per person including drinks.

Lovely place and very clean looking. The only thing that let it down was the waitresses that were in didn't seem all that interested and don't appear to know much about their products.

Overall though, a great restaurant and would highly recommend to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelino's also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Michelino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.