We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place - stunning views over the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnacle - CLOSED

The Barnacle
The Promanade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AN, England
0191 253 3876
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place - stunning views over the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have just enjoyed a lovely evening in this local treasure with my family. My daughter thought her fish and chips were out of this world and our food was very good too. Best of all is the location, tucked away from all the hussel bussel right on the sea front with a wonderful unrestricted view.

We will certainly go back and encourage our friends to do so as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rugeley
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This little restaurant deserves to do well. Set right on the beach the views are stunning. The evening bistro menu contains a very limited range but in my opinion this often means quality triumphs over quantity and this was certainly the case. I had 3 courses, all delicious, great service at a good price. Will definitely be back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Just been to the Barnacle for the second time for lunch. The first was on a cold wet day when we dived into the cafe to warm up with a hot chocolate and decided to stay for food. The chips were amazing, the fish cakes delicious and squid cooked to perfection. The second time was a beautiful sunny day and we sat out front and watched the waves. We ordered pretty much the same food and were not disappointed. The only thing that holds the Barnacle back from perfection is the service. Everyone is very friendly but not terribly fast or efficient. The first time we went the sign on the door still said it closed (this was on father's day). Then the waiter couldn't work the card machine so he called on the chef who then had to call up the owner on his mobile! Plus both time there have been off the menu (I guess the kitchen is so small they can't keep too much on the premises). They also seem to be over-stretched if there are more than a couple of customers in. That said, this place is a little gem. Do visit it but don't be in a hurry and do be prepared to have a first and second choice in case they run out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Steaks !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Fantastic starters of Fishcakes and Deep Fried Brie, followed by the most amazing Rib Eye we have ever tasted and cooked to perfection.
Really nice atmosphere and service was very personal and made a great customer experience. Fab start to our Bank Holiday Weekend... thanks Barnacle x

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st Time - Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had a Groupon deal for Rib Eye Steak and thrice cooked chips. The steaks looked as though they had been cooked in advance and kept warm and the thrice cooked chips were dark and soggy. There doesn't seem to have been a review since February, so don't know what's gone wrong since then.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnacle also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.