We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcatraz Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alcatraz Guest House
Save
You added Alcatraz Guest House to your Saves list
3 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE261NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Happy Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been accommodation staff throughout Whitley Bay since July and had a few of them stay here last night (24th Sept) All three raved about the place. Great accommodation and great staff, thanks we aim to please them

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    0
    0
    9
See reviews for
5
8
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jackie the landlady is a force of nature, and runs a good guest house. The room was clean and well kept, the bathroom a little small but again spotless, which for a short stay is no more than you need. The breakfast you certainly can't argue with. You can't argue because you can't move after eating all that. I think the poor reviews are from a stag party who perhaps were in the wrong place for their needs. As a couple, we were perfectly happy - Jackie runs a tight ship and won't take any poor behaviour, which as someone who was worried that I would have to run the gauntlet of lairy drunks made me happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

just want to say thanks to jackie and sinclair for a lovely stay in there guest house the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was top nosh... i recommend anyone going to whitley bay to stop at alcatraz ....see u both in october will ring u jackie to let u know the date

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was up in Whitley bay with a gang of lads I was the bus driver the lads stayed in an other hotel and sadley cause some bother there but I stayed with Jackie and her husband Sinclair I had a great nights sleep in a good clean room and the full english breakfast was great that girl can cook I think you get troublesome parties everywhere but dont mess with Jackie believe me you wont win but if you play the game then both her and her husband Sinclair will do there utmost to make your stay in there home from home very enjoyable as everything is nearby pubs clubs and the beech all very clean will defo stay again thanks you guys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

had a very good stay at alcatraz,was welcomed by the lovely landlady lol rooms was nice breakfast nice would defo stay again and recomend it if your going to whitley bay for a night out. the hotel is right next to everything beach,pubs,clubs n food.had a good time with the boys bring on the next one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Warm welcome by a lovely landlady, clean room with good beds, lovely full English breakfast.
we only stayed 1 night, traveling from Ireland back to Belgium but we enjoyed it. Helpful hosts: Sinclair moved his car so my dad could put his in front of the house. that made unloading much easier :-)
an adress to remember!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent cheap B&B - good breakfast, clean rooms (massive TV), friendly and welcoming landlady made us feel welcome after a cold wet day on the bike riding from Allenheads. Central location and is top of the list for a return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcatraz Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcatraz Guest House

Address: 3 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE261NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Bedrooms all ensuite rooms ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcatraz Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.