We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cara Guesthouse

The Cara Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cara Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Cara Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 The Links, Whitley Bay NE26 1PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for four days.We were very well looked after by Carol and Joan they made the stay so much more special would recommend the place to anyone.Very convient to the beach and town.The two ladies are a great add for their home town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    4
    4
    14
See reviews for
21
21
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here last minute. The location was fantastic, right on the sea front with gorgeous views. The friendly manager directed us to our room, which was at the top of the building.... as soon as myself and my partner walked in the room our breath was taken away with the view of the sea from the large window!! The room was of a lovely fresh light decor and we were fortunate enough to have been given a large family room. The service was fantastic, the room and its view breath taking. We will most definately be staying here again when we visit again in July. I would definately recommend people to stay there and take the bad comments made with a view that not everyone likes the same as everyone else.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have recently stayed in the cara guest house and I must say me and my husband had a fantastic stay, the rooms were nice and clean and staff were brilliant, very polite and friendly. location is brilliant just across from the beach. breakfast was lovely. would definitely recommend a stay at the cara guest house nice friendly atmosphere. will be stopping here again. mr & mrs clewes

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

the whole place needs a damn good scrubbing. there was THICK dust on the lampshades and the carpet in the room had not been hoovered recently. not to mention the mouldy shower and smelly bed ( complete with hole-y sheets ), there was also cat hair in evidence in bedroom glassware. would not recommend for asthmatics or people who like it clean in general.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I live in Whitley Bay and I had family coming from Ireland that I needed put up. I contacted the Cara, owner very nice, showed me the room, beautiful big family room with sea view. Booked for my family (they have small children). Everyone had a great time, the weather was great, beach, fish and chips, ice cream!! Rooms were clean and spacious, the staff gave kids balls, buckets, etc to play with on the beach, breakfast was huge, did special requests for the kids. Very good value for money, I have spent £10 a head for breakfast alone in other hotels, breakfast included in price. Terrific, I will book all my visiting family and friends in from now on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Second time here and again very very pleased with the stay. Great comfort, food and service made it all a brilliant few days let alone the location and things to do in the area. Kindly greeted by Mariea with a friendly bubbly nature who will do anything possible to ensure she makes your stay worth while. Great full English breakfasts on a morning which set you up for the day was brought with good service and staff who are willing to do there upmost to give excellent service. Cheap stay and will definitely be back! Do not take note of any bad reviews fantastic accommodation and fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Returned here with my partner and couldn't fault at all. With a lovely room with sea view, high standard full English breakfast the next morning and brilliant helpful staff. We were greeted by Mariea and nothing was too much hassle for her to ensure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Extremely comfortable bed, fab food and amazing sea views and things to do near by we very much enjoyed our stay. Excellent value for money. Thank you very much to all staff but most importantly Mariea. We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view room is fantastic but all rooms spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cara Guesthouse

Address: 9 The Links, Whitley Bay NE26 1PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cara Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cara is located on the sea front in Whitley Bay. We offer friendly, high quality accommodation. The English tourist board has awarded our guesthouse a three star rating, and our standard of service has also been recognised with a quality award. Whatever the reason for your stay at our Bed and Breakfast B&B, you will not only be warmly welcomed, you will be perfectly located. The town centre of Whitley Bay and all its amenities are a few minutes walk away. The town boasts a sea front promenade, cafes, restaurants, great shopping, bars and clubs. The Cara Guesthouse also offers a large car park, and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cara Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.