We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best i have had to be honest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shahenshah Tandoori

Shahenshah Tandoori
187-189 Whitley Road, Whitley Bay NE26 2DN, England
+44191-253-3854
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 111 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not the best i have had to be honest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i wasn't to happy with the food, all that you could taste was the chillies. The waiters were ok. I dont think i will be returning to shahenshah. Can improve!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“the best you'll ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

they do specials sunday and thursday. we went sunday expecting just ok food. the food was lovely. just been done up and the cheff is the owner so u no it will be good, will go there all the time, the best is here, found out it means king of kings, should be king of indians

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“There is more to life than just chilli powder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Decent value for money. The strength of the heat in the dishes is determined by chilli powder alone , no use of spices was very bland. Tandoori chicken was not great very very salty. This my favourite dish I had one bite and had to throw it away. Had three dishes between us and all tasted the same. Not the best !!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good and attentive service but the food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I've eaten in this restaurant lots of times in the past and the food ranges from good to better than average. The service is very good - professional and very friendly. Whilst I wouldn't necessarily choose this restaurant for a special night out it certainly is worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fresh food, professional staff - a good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good range of vegetarian options and all seemed feshly cooked with no sign of the ghee so common in many other places. Courteous and efficient waiters; reasonable decor and well worth the visit. Extremely good value for money too. Will go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahenshah Tandoori also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shahenshah Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahenshah Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.