We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort-uitous Food Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison

Garrison
5 Castle Street, Castletown IM9 1LF
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 Restaurants in Castletown
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fort-uitous Food Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We managed, despite deflection from the managers of our accommodation, to secure a table on New Year’s Eve at The Garrison restaurant. Mind, the slot was for very early doors! We were the first customers of the evening. However, this actually suited our plans as we had arranged to meet chums in The Union pub for the end-of-year celebrations.

As can be seen from the photographs, the furnishings and décor are fairly austere; but the ambience was welcoming and warm (as was the temperature). Our hostess, the proprietrix, dressed all glam and with newly coiffed hair-do, did everything she could to ensure a good time was to be had. The food did not fail to impress either.

To start we ordered a round of apéritifs and a dish of toasted almonds liberally tossed in sea-salt and black pepper. They were so moreish that I forgot to take a snap until they were all but gone!

We decided - after personal recommendation from the restaurateuse - upon a Rioja from Arjona, 2012, to accompany our various selections. It transpired that this went well with our shared starters such as the deep-fried octopus.

The delicious wine also partnered well our various main courses (entrées): pasta dishes; Tex-Mex; and, my rather succulent (if slightly chewy - but that’s the luck of the draw with rib-eye!) steak. The lesson I learned from this is not to order rib-eye “bleu”; sirloin and fillet, no problem; but the veins of fat in rib-eye need a tad more cooking or the steak needs to be tenderised.

A bottle of Castell d’Olerdola was delivered in an ice-bucket to accompany desserts, cheese and our toasts. It is is a fruity pink fizz that is sure to go down well at any party; it assuredly assisted our festive mood!

Actually, no-one wanted dessert as my companions felt so full after starters and mains. Naturally, this cheese-lover had to have his fix, so requested the cheese platter, nothing of which remained barring a few crumbs and the grape stalk.

The alimentation served at The Garrison is certainly not haute cuisine; but of its type, it is well sourced, well cooked, well prepared, well presented, and tasty. Prices are reasonable and appropriate for the standard and quality.

Just do not order the coffee - it tastes of dish-water; the only comestible to be avoided! (It is possible someone omitted to rinse the coffee cups after washing!)

Certainly I recommend The Garrison restaurant and hope to dine there again in the not-too-distant future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    8
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgarceful attitude of manager/owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was at a friends 21st birthday party last saturday night. She had booked the upstaires room and paid 100 pounds extra for sandwiches and buffet.2 days before the party the manager phoned her up and told her he had made a chilli for a party on Friday night but they had cancelled so if she wanted she could have it as well as the buffet. She said she couldn't pay for it so the manager said it was on the house because otherwise it would just be thrown out. Obviously she was delighted with this. On the night a table was set out for the food. There was one bowl of rice, 3 little baskets of garlic bread, 1 tray of chips and a soup urn of curry (not chilli). When the girls father and mother asked where the buffet that was paid for was the manager became all defensive saying that he had done a favour putting this food on and they should be grateful for it. it was explained that they had paid for a buffet and were told that the other food was on the house. The manager then threw a right strop and got very aggressive and said in that case he would just shut the bar. Obviously no one wanted this so we dropped the subject and said the birthday girl and her mother would sort it on Monday. After her dad left the manager then approached the birthday girl and was very rude and abusive towards her because her parents dared question the buffet. What disgraceful behaviour from someone in the hospitality business. I would say to anyone thinking about planning a party at the Garrison to be very careful and think twicke about it. I certainly will never put one penny into their till again, in fact I will never set foot in the place again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A new twist on tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and had a selection of tapas dishes, which were very good; patatas bravas made from sweet potato with a bit more bite than usual, Portuguese cod - excellent, Gambas - always good, an antipasto platter, and albondigas - these were a bit dry as made from pure beef instead of a mix of pork and beef. Could also have done with a richer sauce. This aside, the Garrison boasts a good selection of dishes and is located in an excellent location just in front of Rushen Castle. Well worth a visit. The restaurant itself also has very good decor and a good ambiance

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Empty but given the worst table in the restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Garrison is situated in the centre of Castletown, the old capital of the Isle of Man.
It boasts many attractions including the old parliament building, old grammer school and Castle Rushen. It has a charming harbour with the nautical museum being a stone throw away.
The Garrison has recently changed hands but sticks to it's tapas menu as well as an eclectic mix of world cuisine.
We arrives at lunch time just before 12 o'clock when the establishment was empty. We were allocated a table in a corridor next to the wine fridge where the staff traipsed to fill up the fridge with drinks.
They have a nice conservatory and upstairs seating area.
The staff were professional but the food was appalling.
I had chicken fajitas which were dry and tasteless and my wife had two tapas dishes which were expensive and not tasty.
The food is expensive for what you get.
The drinks and wine were fine and reasonable.
We wouldn't go again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My mum lives in the Isle of Man and I always like to go to the garrison when I visit. The staff are always friendly and the food is brilliant :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrison also viewed

Castletown, Isle of Man
Castletown, Isle of Man
 

Been to Garrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.