We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very misleading special offers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Mile - CLOSED

Golden Mile
Unit G Victoria Mall,, Parliament Street, Ramsey
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very misleading special offers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Board outside restaurant advertised Banquet £9.80 p.p. Tues-Thurs, Sunday between 5.30 & 7.30pm. (They are closed on Mondays).
We arrived 6.50pm and checked the menu for the Banquet on offer and it was pretty good.
Waitress comes over and we order and are told Banquet not on available on a Sunday we did question her but she insisted not available on a Sunday. However the evening and service provided deteriorated even further, waitress seemed not to understand English at times when money involved and kept adding to our order and telling us certain things were included and not a choice, seemed to be trying to bump up our bill?

Our final bill came to £61, this included a bottle of wine and 1 dessert and 1 Jameson coffee, which we paid. However before we left we checked our facts from outside notices and took pictures of same. When we realised we had not made a mistake we asked to see the manager/owner. After many raised voices from kitchen a the manager eventually appeared and said the waitress had got it all wrong and she hoped we would visit again (as if).
She did recalculate the bill to what we would have paid if we had been charged for the Banquet, but I had mentioned "false advertising" and trading standards and also the fact I heard waitress tell someone else it was not Banquet night.
The re-calculated bill then came to £45.52. A big difference wouldn,t you agree?
Food was ok but nothing special. Spoiled what was meant to be a romantic evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora W, Owner at Golden Mile, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am very sorry and disappointed to heard that things happened
We will have training every stuffs improve our service for our customers,hope
You forgive the stuff's mistake, and our special offer same as usual service from
5-9pm(Tues, Wed, Thurs,Sun)
Best regards
Dora W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for their special offers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Board outside restaurant advertised Banquet £9.80 p.p. Tues-Thurs, Sunday between 5.30 & 7.30pm. (They are closed on Mondays).
We arrived 6.50pm and checked the menu for the Banquet on offer and it was pretty good.
Waitress comes over and we order and are told Banquet not on at weekend, we thought we had got mixed up and ordered something else.
However the evening and service provided deteriorated even further, waitress seemed not to understand English at times, when money involved and kept adding to our order and telling us certain things were included and not a choice, seemed to be trying to bump up the price?
Our final bill came to £61, this included a bottle of wine and 1 dessert and 1 Jameson coffee, which we paid. However before we left we checked our facts from outside notices and took pictures of same. When we realised we had not made a mistake we asked to see the manager/owner. After many raised voices from kitchen a Chinese lady appeared and said the waitress had got it all wrong and she hoped we would visit again (as if).
She did recalculate the bill to what we would have paid if we had been charged for the Banquet, but I had mentioned "false advertising" and "trading standards" and also the fact I heard waitress tell someone else it was not Banquet night.
The re-calculated bill then came to £45.52. A big difference wouldn`t you agree? Food was ok but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Isle Of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent as normal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

always pleasant , good food , nothing to much, always use the golden mile . will do things that's not on the menu if they can

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Again a very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a VERY good Restaurant, Dora is a wonderful host and can't do enough for you. The food is exceptional and very well priced, freshly prepared food AND YOU CAN TELL I have no problems whatsoever in recommending

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Your host, Dora, will usually be there to welcome you and to make sure you have an enjoyable meal. All the food is freshly prepared to order so you might have to wait a few extra minutes when they are busy. We have eaten there on several occasions and not had a bad meal yet, so we don't have a problem about recommending it to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.