We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy ceiling fan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Bistro

Harbour Bistro
Shipdesine House, East Quay, Ramsey
01624 814182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Ramsey
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Laxey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Noisy ceiling fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The food was very nice but the waitress put us at a table with a very noisy and annoying ceiling fan. Everything else turned out lovely but just wish we could have sat on another table because there was plenty of tables there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Lovely restaurant. Overlooking the harbour...... I know it should be obvious but it actually does and makes a difference re ambience. Food pleasant and plentiful. No faffy fancy stuff... What you ask for us what you get. Lovely staff who can't do enough to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a bistro.... But a nice pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Slightly confused as we arrived, as you enter a pub, and not a bistro!

.....but the staff are very friendly, the food was good, the wine was nice, but it was expensive for a pub meal.

Saying that we went twice in the week we were there!

I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys seafood, but does not care about the decor!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really nice friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Really friendly staff, good value cooking with good sized portions. Highly recommended, we went twice in the week

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went here on the 9th June for lunch. First impressions were not very good as the décor is stuck in a 1960 - 70 time warp ! Horrible brown paint on the wood work, rather naff candle shaped bulbs giving out less light than a night light and worst of all, ' patches ' in the wall exposing the original stonework. I think that the plaster/rendering was purposely hacked out to create an old fashioned effect but sadly, it makes it look as though the plaster has perished and fallen off the wall. Tracy Emin would be proud !! Having got that off my chest , the rest is all positive ! We were quickly shown to a table by a very pleasant and friendly waitress, drinks order was taken and swiftly served. My soup of the day was piping hot and really creamy. The ladies opted for starters as their main course and were hugely relieved that they made this decision as a moment or two later a family on a nearby table received their main courses and the portions were huge !!! Be warned ! The staff were very attentive but never 'in your face'. We will definitely call here next time we are in Ramsey, hopefully by then they will have repaired the ' holes in the wall ' and replaced the existing lights with some nice new functional ones.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.