We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay on the Isle of Man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel
Save
You added Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel to your Saves list
9 Albany Road, Peel IM5 1JS   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Peel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The only place to stay on the Isle of Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a trip to the Isle of Man. While we really enjoyed visiting the island our stay at the Albany House was the best part of the trip. Nikki and Nigel have to be the best hosts we have ever met at a bed and breakfast, and we've stayed at a lot of B&B's. I think my wife mentioned everyday we were there how relaxed and comfortable she felt staying here. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and quiet, I slept like a baby everynight. The Albany house is located just a short walk from the town center making it very easy to walk to the restaurants in town. The breakfast choices are very nice and Nigel made eggs benedict one morning for all the guests even though it's not on the menu. But don't tell him I said that! And before I forget, after I made the reservation Nikki sent me a packet with information about the Isle of Man. Nikki and Nigel, thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The Fraser room is very spacious and has a great clawfoot tub. Plus there is a small wine chiller i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
118
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban SA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose this B&B because it was the best rated B&B in Isle of Man. We stayed 2 nights and it was really very good and justifies the rating and should be the benchmark for all aspiring B&B managers - not only in IOM but everywhere!
Superb room, great service, very well located etc etc. But also, you just know that lots of effort goes in behind the scenes to make your stay as good as it should be- from the quality of room finishes, to the information pack in the room etc.
well done to Nigel and Nikki.

Room Tip: we stayed in Fraser room - definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have stayed in many B & Bs but Albany House is the best. For hospitality, food, cleanliness and being made to feel that nothing is too much trouble Nigel and Nikki are superb. They made our stay most enjoyable. We have stayed in the Marriott, the Hilton and the Lowry but Albany House is far superior. There were ample supplies in our room, tea sugar, biscuits, iron, hair dryer but its that 'homely welcoming' feeling that is everything. The house is warm and inviting with a log fire burning in the front room-sitting room. Nigel chats away to everyone while he is cooks a superb breakfast and the whole atmosphere is relaxed and homely. It is situated only minutes away from the beach and as we like to think of ourselves as Silver Streakers (we are runners) Nikki showed us a good running rout and said we could use their washing facilities to rinse out our kits. Nigel arranged a fishing trip and even came along with us. We would definitely recommend Albany House and Peel for a relaxed, warm and friendly break. There is also lots to see in Peel, museum, castle, fishermen in their boats, places to eat and relax and get to know the history and culture of Peel. Can't forget Coco and Ralphy who greet one with loud barks and wagging tails, like two old friends and also the beautifully tiled hallway which has been restored to its original Victorian elegance.

Room Tip: Everything about Albany House is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Albany House is exceptional! We have stayed in bed and breakfasts in many different countries. Nikki and Nigel are the best! They were always available for questions, to hear about our days adventures, and make sure we had EVERYTHING we needed. The house is in the middle of Peel- walking distance to the points of interest plus the bus. No hassle parking. Now, the food! Well, we loved our breakfasts and the conversation around the table. You name it Nigel will cook it up for you. Everything was clean and well maintained throughout the house. A hot bath at the end of the day was heavenly. Comfy beds, linens, and pillows. We were sad to be leaving Peel and saying good bye to Nikki and Nigel.

Room Tip: The front room had some traffic noise yet seeing the Irish Sea from our window was worth the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We needed to come to the IOM for a short family visit and just had to stay at Albany House again. The welcome we received from Nikki and Nigel, and definitely not forgetting Coco and Ralphy, was like meeting up with old friends again. This time we had the yellow room; in a word, beautiful. It's at the back, so very quiet and also gets the morning sun. The new kitchen/ dining area is superb which means the conversations just flow over breakfast. And, of course, Nigel's breakfasts are as superb as always. We will return as soon as we can for a proper break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Albany House has excellent reviews, and it's no wonder at all. I couldn't imagine a better B&B! Nikki and Nigel are the most gracious and welcoming of hosts, and you truly do feel right at home. The entire house could not be in a better condition, and has clearly been kept up to the very highest standard, with no expense spared--from the authentic cast-iron clawfoot tubs, to the fresh and modern conservatory breakfast area adjoining the kitchen, the house maintains a characterful feel with all the mod cons.

Our roomy king-sized bed in the Fraser room was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in, with Egyptian cotton sheets and cozy quilts. Extra blankets and lovely dressing gowns in the wardrobe were a nice extra touch. Plenty of teas (including fruit and decaf!), coffee, sugars, sweeteners, milk, bottled waters, and even a lovely tin of biscuits were included in the room. The bath was the best I've ever had (I couldn't resist two in one day!) although the modern shower was also perfect. There were plenty of toiletries, even bubble bath, and things such as razors and deodorant in case one forgot an essential item at home. Underfloor heating and a radio in the ceiling of the bathroom were so luxurious.

Nikki and Nigel were so lovely and helpful, giving us lots of advice about the island, especially as we are moving over soon. They are truly an incredible source of knowledge and connections, and some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. We really enjoyed hearing lots of local knowledge and stories from Nigel as he cooked our yummy breakfasts in the morning--for which you also have lots of choice, of cooked or cold breakfast items. I highly recommend the salmon and eggs! Nigel's background is in the hospitality business and he is a trained chef, so you'll want for nothing, especially at breakfast!

Just a five or so minute walk from the seafront and a great pub, The Creek, Albany House is also in a great location. Peel is one of the most picturesque towns on the island, and the House of Mannanan museum is NOT to be missed!

Overall, I could not have asked for anything better. From the friendly dogs Ralphie and Coco welcoming you, to the perfect tiny touches such as three-legged Manx triskelion paper lining the drawers, to the gorgeous handmade cross-stitched Isle of Man wall hangings, to the endlessly helpful and friendly hosts, you couldn't ask for more from a B&B.

Highly, highly recommended. Stay there as soon as you possibly can!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fraser room, which is I believe the biggest. It's spacious, bright, and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a lovely, lovely place. Nigel and Nikki are absolutely amazing and accommodating. My friend and I went for a muddy hike one day, and Nikki was kind of enough to take our dirty clothing and wash it for us (even though she had just gotten home from work). Their dogs, Ralphy and Coco, are absolute dolls. I admit, I got a little emotional when I had to leave. There isn't a better place to stay in Peel. Not a single thing to complain about. Go to the Albany House-you will have a relaxing and amazing experience. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Yellow Room was darling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyHouse, Owner at Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
It was a real pleasure having you girls stay with us. We love the You tube video of Ralphy. Hope to see you again. Thanks for the lovely comments.
Nikki, Nigel, Ralphy & Coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel

Address: 9 Albany Road, Peel IM5 1JS
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Manx welcome & hearty breakfast await you at cosy Albany House. Pamper yourself in either of the luxurious, spotless en-suite rooms. Comfortably enjoy beautiful Peel's attractions plus the added convenience of close public transport. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albany House Bed And Breakfast Peel Isle Of Man

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.