We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Manannan

House of Manannan
Mill Road, Peel IM5 1TA
01624 648000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Peel
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mythical sea god Manannan guides you through this interactive museum which focuses on the Isle of Man's rich Celtic, Viking and maritime past. Discover life sized reconstructions of Celtic roundhouses, join the crew of the Odin’s Raven on a Viking longship as it returns from the battle of Clontarf, or find out what life was life in a Viking longhouse. You’ll also hear about the magnificent stone crosses dotted around the Island’s landscape and find out where you can still see them. Explore 19th Century Peel with a walk around the quayside, complete with traditional sights and smells from the Manx kipper yard, and uncover the importance of the sea to the lives of the people on the Isle of Man. During your journey from past to present you’ll also come face to face with characters telling you stories and superstitions from the Island’s past. An attraction not to be missed!
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great exhibition with real atmosphere. So much about the island that we didn't expect. Artistically displayed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    38
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is one of the better museums I've visited during my stay here in Europe. It tells you the history of the Isle of Man. My favorite part were the Encounter Rooms. There were some very interesting stories and I learned a little history too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than i expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently went to Isle of Man and whilst visiting Peel decided to go to the House of Manannan a Viking from the past. We spent a few hours in the museum and loved every minute takes you from the Vikings landing with a full size long boat that had been used by the locals in the 70's to raise money. Into a film explaining more about the island then on to the rest of the museum where you walk through houses from years gone by through villages ending up in the village of recent years including smoke house for kippers. Not sure how much it was to get in as we purchased a Manx pass that includes entrance to all heritage sites and transport Inc. Buses, Electric trains, Steam trains and mountain railway. KIDS WILL LOVE IT ASWELL AS THE ADULTS.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Superb historical museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited Peel as part of a coach trip and decided to spend our time there by visiting the House of Manannan - one of the best decisions I've made! We had just over 2 hours available and we only got an overview and taster. Lots to see (& smell!) with excellent interactive displays and a fantastic way to learn about the history of the IoM.

There is also lots of things to keep children amused as well as an excellent coffee bar and museum shop.

We could easily have spent a half day in this attraction - well worth visiting!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see for IOM history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The "story" of IOM is very creatively told at this museum. Each exhibit creates a "feeling" of what it would be like at that time in history - including the smells of the kippers smoking. The human interest stories were well told. Allow enough time. It is worth it

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Manannan also viewed

Castletown, Isle of Man
Laxey, Isle of Man
 
Peel, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to House of Manannan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Manannan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.