We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great atmosphere great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour LIghts Cafe & Restaurant

Harbour LIghts Cafe & Restaurant
The Promenade, Peel IM5 1AH
+44 1624 843543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Peel
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Often described as your Granny’s front room our fine collection of china cups and tea-plates (many donated by happy customers and friends ) forms the backdrop to this traditional tearoom. Our log fire keeps customers warm in winter and the fine views of the beach and castle are second to none.Open throughout the year, our evening restaurants are especially popular so please remember to book . Local favourites are Peel Smoked Kippers our famous Battered Cod and Mrs Jones’s Rich Fruit cake and Tea-bread. Our homemade desserts with whipped Manx Cream are another great favourite.Evenings in Peel give customers a real treat, a three course meal plus coffee with plenty of choice and a great atmosphere. Peel is also popular as a venue for private dinner parties and can comfortably seat up to 35 guests. Our Peel restaurant in not licensed so feel free to bring along your own wine.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service great atmosphere great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited this place during our visit to the TT in 2013. It was our first visit to the IOM. This cafe is superb very friendly old fashioned good service and excellent food. Nicely laid tables with tablecloths. Good traditional food in a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“A very cosy tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Loved this place. We just had some tea but the interior was so charming.
There was a fierce wind outside but this tearoom was so nicely warm.
It was very busy but we've got served very fast.
Giv it a try: you will not regret!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Biggest fish I've ever seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My bf took me for lunch here today for the first time. I loved it, it is a really cute shabby chic cafe on the beach road in Peel. They have teapots, teacups and fairy lights as decoration and the ladies toilet is like walking into your grans bathroom! Its a lovely place and the foid is great, I ordered fish and chips and the fish was propper whale size! It definetly filled me up and it was very tasty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quaint, good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We often dine here either as a couple or a family and have never had a bad experience. The food is nothing fancy but very well prepared and cooked. I like the fact that you can save a fortune by bringing your own wine. The yearly specials (eg. Valentines) are very good indeed. The table service is absolutely first class.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good sandwich lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We only had sandwiches and tea here but the portions were ample and tasted fine. We had cheddar & spring onion and egg mayo both on brown bread and shared them between us. They came with a decent sized salad, including a small dish of potato salad, plus a portion of crisps. There was plenty of filling in the sandwiches. The tea for two was a large pot that we didn't manage to finish.

The three course lunch at £11 per head looked good value but we didn't have time for that. It looked to be a popular place, even in February so I guess most of the trade had to be local (except us!) which is a good recommendation.

Service was friendly and reasonably prompt, too. Would definitely go again on another visit to the island.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour LIghts Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Peel, Isle of Man
 

Been to Harbour LIghts Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour LIghts Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.