We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Delight

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Delight
Athol Place, Peel
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 23 Restaurants in Peel
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take away and restaurant
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chinese delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have one complaint about this restaurant that they over fed us but did ask us if we would like our food left overs wrapping up.
The problem like all chinese seem to offer so much choice that you can take a night deciding and they did not rush you as some restaurants do. Chinese food is one of my favourites and this lived up to this billing
The whole party did the fatal mistake of having starters that always is a big mistake and leaves you full. This what you say but every one destroyed all their meals except for the rice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average takeaway chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have ordered takeaway a few times.

Has always been ok - nothing to complain about - but nothing great. Jade Harbor is better - but they don't deliver.

In its defense it is pretty cheap if I remember correctly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hong Kong Delightful !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Always get great food and service here. Best chinese food on the Island, tasty and good value. Looking a bit tired but the service and food make up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful for a friday night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The team is very nice and the new chef cooks delicious and very well seasoned food (as hot as you order it, from very mild to very hot). There are no long waiting times. I thouroughly recommend the hor d'oeuvres.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk Michael
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Never again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Take away bought by family for a treat during TT. We did not get what we ordered even though our order was read back to us on collection.The meat was as tough as old boots and the sweet and sour sauce was like drinking vinegar and the curry sauce was tasteless.The egg fried rice was full of broken shell and the chips were not really fit to eat. I wish that we had spent the £60 elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Delight also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.