We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fernleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fernleigh
Marine Parade, Peel IM5 1PB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Peel B&B and Inns
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hassle free and comfortable accomodation in probably the best location in Peel - on the seafront but in a quiet no through road.

My family are vegetarian and have never been so well catered for at breakfast with enough food to keep them walking through the day.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely b&b on the prom. Peel is a lovely place and this hotel was a great spot to watch the waves.
The breakfast is lovely and the girls who do breakfast are really helpful.
June the owner is a lovely lady and really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
When we visit the Isle of Man again we will be staying at the fernleigh.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited the Isle of Man for the first time since I was a small child. I was very
pleasantly surprised. We had a great time.
The Fernleigh was a very good choice.
We were made very welcome. Everything is clean and fresh.
The breakfasts were the best we have ever had in a bed and breakfast.
The position is ideal. Fabulous views of the beach and castle, and near
to good pubs and restaurants.
Will stay there again when we visit the island again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I live on the Island and each year my friends and I have our little reunion at the Fernleigh. This is our third visit. June is now a firm friend and knows all our idiosyncrasies! She provides the most amazing breakfasts and my friend who is vegan has never been so impressed (indeed she has been known to video her menu and subsequent meal!).
We have always had the same rooms each year (2nd floor) and this year the rooms have been redecorated and the bathrooms revamped... Fantastic! In the hallway, there is a wealth of information on display of places to go, eat and see on the Island and I would recommend any of them.
Really looking forward to 2014!

Jean, Karen, Eileen & Lorraine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arborfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fine classic 'private' hotel. Was here for two nights on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the clean and good looking interior, friendly service and great and delicious breakfast options. Free wifi in the lounge and breakfast area (and some parts of the hotel). Since the hotel is right on the promenade the views are fantastic. Walking to the small centre of town is an easy 5 minute walk. Highly recommended at very friendly prices!

Room Tip: I had a a room with no view. Next time I would like to request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent a week in Peel at the Fernleigh and cannot recommend it enough.
June the landlady was very welcoming and we helped ourselves to sweets both up and down the stairs...if there had been a lift we would have missed them!
The breakfast ladies were very pleasant and served the wonderful breakfasts with a smile.
We had a sea view after the first 3 nights both rooms were extremely clean and stylish, and the view was idyllic, watching the seals and fishing boats....would recommend to all...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent a week here on holiday and found everything superb.
Our room was well worth the 3 flights of steep stairs for the view over Peel Bay to the sunsets behind the castle. In the mornings we could watch gannets, terns and razorbills on the water, without binoculars, before breakfast. Very clean, spacious and well-equipped, there are even sweeties on the landing to provide an energy boost for the last climb!

Breakfasts were magnificent, recommend the Manx kippers, and served by cheerful, friendly staff. No private car park but plenty of public spaces right outside, we always managed to park within a few yards of the front door.

June, the owner, is delightful and couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Room 6 had the sea view and en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fernleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernleigh

Address: Marine Parade, Peel IM5 1PB
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernleigh is a well established family business that has been run by June Pownall and her family for over 20 years. The bed & breakfast offers bright, clean and stylish accommodation throughout and a warm welcome to all guests. There are 12 rooms available, 8 standard rooms and 4 with full en-suite facilities. Ranging from compact single to large family sized rooms, all are furnished to the same high level and offer colour televisions, hairdryers and courtesy trays with complimentary tea and coffee.They say that breakfast is the best way to start the day, and breakfast at the Fernleigh is definitely worth getting out of bed for! The hearty menu changes every day, and includes a broad selection of hot and cold vegetarian options such as: stuffed mushrooms, bagels with cream cheese, vegetarian sausages and Staffordshire oatcakes (if you don't know what they are, then you are in for a treat) which may even tempt the meat eaters, and of course the famous Manx Kippers. All the food is home prepared and cooked and using the finest locally sourced ingredients.The Fernleigh provides a real 'home from home' experience for your holiday; and features original artwork throughout the B&B, some of which has been painted by talented professional artists who return as guests, year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fernleigh Peel, Isle Of Man

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fernleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Fernleigh to your Saves list