We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just where does the four star rating come from.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Mona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Mona Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Mona Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Mona Drive, Douglas IM2 4LG   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Nuneaton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just where does the four star rating come from.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Smallest room I've ever stayed in other than on a cruise ship. Just had to complain about black mould in shower cubicle which was sorted the next day. Remainder of bathroom was fine. Also mentioned about curtains not functioning. One side wouldn't open, the other not secured at the end and wouldn't meet in the middle anyway. Still not fixed at the end of my stay. Just a 5 minute job with a set of steps & a curtain hook. I questioned the owner regarding the 4 star rating. He commented that no one had complained before to which I had to reply that most would depart hoping it was just a bad dream. On the plus side, the full english breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
9
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Quite a nice B and B but seemed to be noisy at night (coming from back of hotel). Breakfast ok but was at another hotel. Very clean and there was a good supply of tea/coffee and toiletries etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My initial response to my room on the top floor was good, well presented clean and smart. The shower was hopeless, the refurbishment budget obviously did not run to a good plumbing system. At best the shower was a dribble and without exagerating would stop altogether if another guest turned their shower on! I compared this with friends who were staying in other rooms and their experience was the same. The toilet leaked where it met the floor and when you turned the hot tap off on the basin, the tap spun round. I mentioned this to the manager who's response was " I've not had anyone else complain". as if that was ok !

Service at breakfast was poor, on the Saturday I asked if I could delete the egg from my breakfast as I suffer an allergy with them and I was asked if I was being fussy. When a friend asked for a breakfast with no wheat products in, due to being a coeliac the waitress went in to the kitchen and shouted "ooh we've got a right fussy one here".

This hotle is no way near 4 stars and at best is an average b and b.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

okay nothing special not a 4 star hotel as they say more your decent b and b back home ,friendly staff and owners food okay but expensive for what you get

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Mona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mona Hotel

Address: 6 Mona Drive, Douglas IM2 4LG
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Mona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glen Mona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mona Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Mona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.