We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merseyside Tuesday Club Holiday 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silvercraigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silvercraigs Hotel to your Saves list
Silvercraigs Hotel
Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Merseyside Tuesday Club Holiday 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our second trip to Silvercraigs, our first one was Aug 2008 and we enjoyed it so much we always promised to come back! We are volunteers for a group of adults with learning disabilities (total group of 38). We were welcomed with soft drinks on arrival. The hotel and rooms were very clean and the food was exceptional. Two members of our party had birthdays during our stay and were presented with birthday cakes and a plate of pink angel delight (but that's a private story!!) The waiting on staff were very attentive and helpful.
Stuart and Diana couldnt do enough for us and our group, right from when we made our booking to during the week we stayed, they listened to our feedback and made changes when they were required, making for a holiday that everyone in the Tuesday Club group will remember for a long time. Im sure we will be back - again!

Room Tip: All very clean, sea view ones have a lovely outlook along the promenade at Douglas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
38
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at the Silvercraig Hotel for 8 days during the Manx Grand Prix 2012. On arrival we were greeted with a free drink from the bar and a cheery smile, which is nice. The room was clean and tidy with a reassuring smell of bleach in the bathroom. Their advert said the furniture was old etc, this was not really the case in our room as it was very pleasant. Breakfast was a daily treat with a good choice of menu all very well presented. As we booked late for the ManxGP this year, this was the only hotel we could find that had a vacancy. As it turned out it was like winning the lottery and we were delighted to have stayed there. If we return for the TT next year we shall be staying at the Silvercraig again. They even made us a free of charge packed lunch for the boat as we had to head home before breakfast. Fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shurdington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

when my husband and i arrived it was quite late in the evening and having gone from the airport to the hotel we were greeted with a warm and friendly smile, the room was clean and airy and the view was great, when we got up in the morning for breakfast we were treated to a good choice of menu to choose from and no rush to get you out the way, it was also a child friendly place as well. there was not any restrictions on when you could come and go, which was great if you came back early from your day out you could come and go as you pleased with no hassle, i would well recommend to anyone.this is a lovely hotel,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A small family run hotel where stiart the owner on arrival offered us complimentary drinks. We had our 10 year old child staying with us whom he introduced to daughter a cute girl who had loads to say plyed so tunes on the keyboard for us durong our stay. In short we were made feel like part of the family from the moment we got there
Everything about the place felt warm friendly clean and comfortable. We were asked when we booked if we minded being addressed by our first names when we said we were happy with that for the duration of our stay we were addressed that way which i think added to the warmth of the whole experience. Next time i visit the isle of man booking the silvercraigs for accomadation will be my first step

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethard
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My Husband, son aged 9 and I stayed with Stuart and Diana for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time.The hotel is a little over 5 minutes from the port in Douglas on Queens Promenade, so there is a great view of the sea. Great transport facilities right outside the hotel, buses, horse tram and the electric train to Ramsey is only a short distance from the hotel. There are quite a few restaurants and pubs nearby and the hotel also serves drinks after 9pm in the large comfortable sitting room.Complimentary drinks on arrival.We found everyone really friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 23 on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately the lift had broken down a short time before our arrival but Stuart kindly helped us with our suitcases.The room was very large with ensuite facilities. The beds were the most comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses.Breakfast was a feast with a vast array of choices for everyone.My son is a very fussy eater and he loved the scrambled eggs and apple juice. Thank you to the breakfast team. We were leaving the hotel at 5.30am for an early ferry so Diana arranged a packed breakfast for us to collect the night before departure. We felt very welcome , safe and secure in Silvercraigs and we will definitely stay here again. Stuart and Diana run a great hotel with the help of Sarah(receptionist). We would highly recommend this child friendly Hotel for your holidays on the Isle of Man

Room Tip: you need to book well in advance to get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvercraigs, Owner at Silvercraigs Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We enjoyed having this family stay with us. It is very encouraging to have our guests enjoy their stay at Silvercraigs and to plan to come back to stay with us in the future! Our lift is very reliable and it is of great benefit to our guests. Our lift maintenance work is regularly performed at times when our guests are not inconvenienced. On this occasion we did have to take the lift out of service for a number of days to complete some maintenance work. During this time we had notices up on all the floors stating that the lift was out of service for maintenance work but that it could temporarily be put back into service for anyone who could not manage without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I found this hotel on the Visit Isle of Man website and was not disappointed. Conveniently situated on the promenade within walking distance of the Electric Railway and right opposite a bus and horse tram stop. I was greeted with a welcome drink from Sarah one of the very welcoming and accomodating members of staff. In their correspondence the owners site that the furniture is traditional - I would prefer to say antique, at least it was in my room and very lovely too! The bed, with the memory foam mattress enabled me to have the best nights sleep I have ever had in any hotel. The room was spotlessley clean and there was a great choice at breakfast - and plenty of it! As a lone traveller on this occasion, looking for a peaceful break I was not at all disappointed - all staff and of course the lovely owners while very attentive, were not at all pushy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights with a seaview room, which had excellent views of the bay. The single room was compact but was comfortable and had all the facilities. The staff were always friendly and helpful, the hotel was quiet and relaxing, the breakfast was very good. A bus stop is right outside, as is the horse tram stop - very useful as it's a fair walk to the centre of Douglas. But it's convenient for the heritage electric railway to Snaefell and Ramsey at Derby Castle, where there's also a handy pub serving evening meals. I'd be perfectly happy to return.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are great for the view, but there is a busy road outside so there is traffic noise wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silvercraigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvercraigs Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a welcoming, friendly atmosphere and excellent service on the seafront, close to the Palace Hotel and Casino. Enjoy Douglas Bay views, superb food, passenger lift and clean accommodation at a reasonable cost! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silvercraigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvercraigs Hotel Douglas
Silvercraigs Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silvercraigs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.