We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On the seafront a few minutes from the ferry terminal , which is a godsend when you've had a long journey.
The rooms were large , well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The meals were average but there was a choice each day. The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful
On the downside the lift is minute and the corridors long and narrow

Room Tip: Have a seafront room , worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    61
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
73
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Situated right on the prom overlooking Douglas Bay with a fantastic view we were lucky having a sea front room on the first floor room very comfortable and clean with modern furniture, bathroom with a large bath big enough for two and a powerful shower. Even a balcony off the bathroom but to gusty to try out.
Food is Carvery with at least a choice of three dishes and a good selection of veg, starter soup or salad bar and desert again a choice of three dishes. You are not going to starve at this hotel and the quality is very good.
Staff are friendly and efficient yes it can get a little hectic at times just like any Carvery.
We were on a coach party and only stayed for four days and found this hotel to be a real gem
have stayed at five star hotels with accomadation not as good as the Rutland

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view eg112 Rooms at rear long walk Lift only holds three people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of The Rutland Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you enjoyed the Carvery. Our staff work hard to provide excellent customer service, and your feedback has been passed on to our chefs and kitchen team. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although quite a walk from the ferry terminal high marks to the staff for letting us check in at 6am in the morning after taking the night ferry from Heysham; allowing us to have a sleep before setting out for a wedding at lunchtime. Spacious double room with good sized double bed and comfy sofa. Nice hot power shower. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Clean and well decorated rooms.

Room Tip: We had a back room on the 3rd floor (probably because we checked in at an unearthly hour and the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have spent a weekend in this hotel in large sea view room. It’s overall good hotel with comfortable basic rooms.

Everything else seems a bit average. The lobby is rather poor, small, slow lift and really narrow and long corridors.

The hotel seems to cater mostly for big coach tours. We had our dinner there and it was really appalling. It was sort of a canteen type of venue with limited selection of very poorly cooked food.


I would recommend staying in superior rooms overlooking the bay, but would never advise to eat there…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review of The Rutland Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. As you suggest we do often cater for large parties, however we make it our priority to serve delicious food for all of our guests. We have taken on board your comments and passed these on to the chef for when we re-open this spring. Regarding the decor of our lobby, we close each winter during which repairs are made and TLC given where needed. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding our superior rooms. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you're looking Victorian seaside hotel then look no further than The Rutland. This hotel mixes the traditional Victorian look but with a modern contempary modern well refurbished interior. Our waterfont room gave fabulous views across the Douglas promenade and if up early enough enjoyed the sunrise over the Irish Sea. It's location on the promenade made it easy to find and within reach of Douglas harbour and centre. With friendly and helpful staff this made our stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room to make the most of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good things about Rutland hotel are: clean, nicely decorated rooms, helpful staff, spacious dining room where quality breakfasts are served and very reasonable rates (in may case GBP 35 per night). Not so good thing is the distance from the downtown Douglas. It may take you half an hour to walk towards the ferry terminal, steam railway station, most bus stops and the restaurants along the N Quay. However, if you head towards the electric railway, it’s only 10 min away.
Try to get a room facing the promenade with nice views on the Douglas Bay to offset the inconvenience of somewhat isolated location.

Room Tip: Just try to get a room with a view on Promenade / Douglas Bay - then you may have access to the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A lovely seafront hotel that looks as if it was recently renovated. Nice clean room and bathroom.
Great value. This is the second time I have stayed here, and highly recommend it. My room was at the rear of the hotel and very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.