We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rutland Hotel to your Saves list
The Rutland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently stayed here for the second time. We had a sea facing room which was recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a quiet bar area with entertainment available during the week when coach parties arrive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    68
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
77
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was very clean and tidy,friendly staff in all areas, our room was on the 4 floor and overlooked the bay, the breakfast was very good with lots to choose from,the parking outside the hotel is free, its only 5 mins away from the port we would use this hotel again next time we go A1 TO AL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have marked this review as an overall of 3 for several reasons:
1) The very noisy lichen fans. We were on the 4th floor above the kitchens and the fans come on approximately 2 hours before meal times. This means thay if guests (coach parties) are going out on the 8:15 am Ferry, the fans kick in between 4 & 5 a. All well and good if you are one of the guests going home, but not a good experience for guests staying on and hoping for some quiet time. The noise is not only confined to the bedrooms in the 2 wings over the kitchen area as fellow guests in other non-sea view rooms also advised they could hear the fans!
2)There is a wall at the back of the hotel at least as high and very close, this stops the air from really cooling the rooms and even though we had 3 windows, we still needed the room fan
3) The hotel has a lift but it is incredibly small, it holds 3 average sized guests or 2 if they are not! At peak times guests need to be prepared for long waits or to use the stairs. The stairs are narrow and steep. I used them more times that I would have preferred.
4) The front entrance of the hotel is 9 steps and no ramp so is not suitable for anybody with mobility problems.
I would strongly advise people to try and upgrade to a front sea view room as these did not appear to be affected by the noise of the fans. Also all if the other rooms gave no view whatsoever. It is akin to living in a back to back tenement block.
On the plus side, the rooms are large and spacious, plenty of drawers and a wardrobe. A good hair dryer. Nice bathroom (only sea view rooms have a bath, all others have only a shower) the shower is very good. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Products are provided and the towels are brilliant white and clean, as is bedding. Plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/milk.
Breakfast was very good, toasters are challenging (but this was in part due to guests 'messing up the settings')
Evening meals were okay, sometimes a bit bland, we only ever had cold sweets. Tea/coffee was unreliable in strength. The rables and chairs were very close and this caused issues.
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
Thr location is splendid. I was part of a coach tour and would try to avoid this hotel in future unless I was able to upgrade to a sea view room.
I've mentioned it before but it is worth reiterating, the lift is not fit for purpose given the size of the hotel and Thr spread of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of the Rutland Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed in aspects of your stay with us. We appreciate that some of our rooms do not have a sea view, but we do our best to allocate these rooms to guests who may otherwise not have booked them, should this be possible. We will look in to the fan noise that you refer to, as this may be a maintenance issue. Unfortunately due to the original Victorian design of the property we do not have mobility access at the front of the hotel and refer to this on the hotel website. We do, however, provide non-slip steps and guide rails to the entrance for those who may require this. Thank you for your otherwise kind comments regarding the facilities, catering & hotel cleanliness which are most appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the Rutland Hotel on your next visit to the Isle of Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Rutland is very easy to find and overlooks the sea. Its an older hotel but well looked after. The room that we had was nice and airy (we had possibly the only balcony which helped to cool the room down) and very clean and comfortable. The reception staff were excellent, nothing was too much bother for them and help us to find the information that we needed about the practice Grand Prix (which we missed due to it being cancelled because of a car parked in the wrong place - you know who you are....). We didnt have an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfasts were lovely and once again the breakfast room staff were very helpful. The bar was quiet but very comfortable and had a nice feel about it. The only point I would ask the hotel to change is that the glass shower screen had no marker on it and was difficult to see and twice I caught my elbow on it not realising it was as close as it was.
The horse drawn trams were fascinating and saved a long walk along the promenade and we took great delight in checking the names of the horses!! This was my first trip to the IOM and found the people to be very friendly and laid back. I wished we had been able to stay longer!!! Definately will go back to the IOM and back to the Rutland.

Room Tip: Beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great hotel right on the seafront in Douglas. So easy to find. Just get off the ferry and follow the promenade for approx 1/2 mile and the Hotel is there on your left hand side. Free parking on the road ouside. We stayed for three nights bed and breakfast and thought it was really good value. The breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it. We ate our evening meal at the hotel for £9.95 each for two courses, which was again good value. The only downside which has been mentioned in earlier reviews was the room temperature was way to high and has no heating control. Had to sleep with windows open to cool the room down. With that said, we have already booked to go back next year (2013) for the Manx GP

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed in the Rutland Hotel on a short break with my daughter. The positives include very, very friendly and efficient staff. They knew their job and provided excellent customer service. The refurbishement of the hotel was excellent, our room was pleasant, well decorated, and spotless. The shower was great with superb room service. The breakfast was adequate, with a good choice of both hot and cold, but not that imaginative, fresh fruit rather than tinned would have been nice. The communal areas were a bit ordinary.

I payed £50 per night for a twin room on a b&b basis. At that rate it represented great value for money and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the back, where most of the rooms are. There is some noise from fans, but we found it tol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from two night break at the Rutland. Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, staff friendly and buffet breakfast excellent!! Little bit out of town - £3 taxi ride (or horse drawn tram). Douglas not the most exciting place to stay I have to say, very quiet, not a lot to do, expecially when the weather not up to much. If I ever did go back to Douglas I would not hesitate to stay at the Rutland. Two nice local restaurants - Jaks, and Harbour Lights - both worth a visit.

Room Tip: 112 - front, sea view and a balcony off the bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 19-23 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rutland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant buildings on the Isle of Man, The Rutland is the latest addition to the Sleepwell Group. Following a multi-million pound refurbishment, The Rutland has been transformed into a stunning 64 bedroom hotel offering comfort, style and quality to both business and leisure customers. The Rutland is situated on the Queens Promenade in Douglas and enjoys beautiful panoramic views across Douglas Bay and is only a short walk to the town centre. Please note that due to the original architectural features of our Isle of Man Hotels, they are not suitable for any guests requiring 'Wheelchair' or 'Street level access', as all have external steps to access the hotel entrance. Proud winner of the 2008 Isle of Man Tourism Awards - Best Hotel of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Douglas
Rutland Hotel Isle Man
The Rutland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rutland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.