We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, good choice of food and made to feel welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chesterhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Chesterhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good choice of food and made to feel welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Had to change rooms as room 211 had what was probably a refrigeration unit out side which was noisy all night. Changed to 203 and couldn't complain. The service was good, the food was very good with plenty of choice and the staff were friendly. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    22
    20
See reviews for
13
59
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Group of 20 girls went across to the IOM for my sisters Hen nite at the end of Sept, online pics of the hotel looked great, but I was very disappointed with the real thing. Reception, Rooms and Dining Room were very dated this Hotel looks like it would suit much much older couples. Rooms were tiny, bathrooms were very poor and shower areas were in need of refurbishment.
Staff were very friendly and the location was great everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I have to say that our stay at the Chesterhouse was great. Room was clean, staff were fantastic especially Kate on reception. Breakfast is basic but there was lots. Please bear in mind that the hotel is on the promenade and does have a bar underneath so there is quiet a bit of noise. Not all rooms have a sea view but that is the same with all the hotels on the promenade so ask for one when you book. We ere there for the Manx 2day trial and the hotel even put breakfast on an hour early so all the riders could eat before they started. We had a great time and would go back to the Chesterhouse again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notheren Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

My Boyfriend and i booked a doulbe room, when we arrived we were given a twin room!!!!we went back to reception and complained and where given another room.
So off we went with all our bags again.when we got to this room it was also a twin room with two single beds. We had to go all the way back to reception again through the smallest corridors i have ever seen. We finally got a double room on our third try.
The room was dark and very small and had the lovely view of a brick wall.
The breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed at the Chesterhouse for three nights over a weekend in July. Found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and equipped with hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. However, it was small and noisy - other guests returning to their rooms could be heard, and pigeons cooing outside the window early in the morning kept us awake. The breakfast was a buffet of full cooked English, so there was no shortage of hot food. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the fire escape. It looks similiar to other hotels in the area, which is why I would describe it as adequate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed in room 212. Located to the rear/side of the hotel. It was very very noisy due to the club/bars in the alley below, especially the empty glass bottles which were continually dumped into the metal skip on the Fri and Sat that we were there (until 1am Fri and 3am Sat) Interior doors banged very loudly due to the spring back mechanisms, even a controlled close was difficult to do quietly. Our room had mould on the bathroom wall, the bathroom tiles needed a re-grout and a good wash. The decor was bad. During our stay the weather was hot but we could not switch the bathroom radiator off fully, it stayed luke warm. There was a continuous drip drip of water from some leak outside. One of the mugs provided for tea coffee had brown cracks along the top to bottom. Room service failed to provide hand towels, refresh toilet tissue, and biscuits. The restaurant area was of poor decor too. It begs for swags and tails at the windows, some chandeliers in the high ceilings. With some quality wall paintings to decorate the large walls. It was bland and uninviting. Chef provided good quality food, could do with a better Vegetarian option though, my husband had to eat cheese quiche for his evening meal. Fortunately there was an excellent manager who corrected what he could with our room and was very professional and polite. In fact it was the hotel reception staff and duty manager who made our stay better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

This hotel is awful, reception staff, (one black-haired lady in particular), were rude and bullied me into paying £64 more than I had pre-paid. She told me her hotel owns lastminute.com, which is a lie. (Thankfully I have now got this refunded after many telephone calls). We had no heating for 2 days and 1 night, the reception staff promised us a heater 3 times however it never materialised. It was so cold we hardly slept!!!
Breakfast was nasty, cold sausage, bacon and stale bread.
We were booked in for 3 nights, and checked out a day early because we were so fed up with it.
AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!!! There are lots of nicer hotels in Douglas for the same, if not cheaper price.

  • Liked — The price (£40 for double room).
  • Disliked — No heating in freezing conditions, rude reception staff, breakfast terrible, no parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.