We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesterhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chesterhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Chesterhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from a stay here with Shearings. The hotel was in a perfect location and has the most friendly and helpful staff. The room, although on the small side was very clean and in very good condition.

The restaurant was really nice and the buffet breakfast and dinner food was beautifully cooked with a good variety.

The only black mark was the requested early call for the departure did not happen. We can can only assume it was a one off hiccup.

Thank you to all the staff for a very nice experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    22
    20
See reviews for
13
59
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Chesterhouse, been refurbished to a good standard, restaurant meals big portions and lovely. room phones did not work which was a problem. Room was a large seaview, no complaints, staff very friendly and attentive, wine at £17 a bottle much too much for this standard of hotel. Would return if we had same rooms.

Room Tip: Get an exececutive room which is bigger and usually sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights when on business......pity it was Grand Prix week, as a complete rip-off for an old tired hotel. I will never return and would advise any potential residents to take the time to look for somewhere else to stay while on this lovely island!

Check-in was ok, no wait and friendly staff. Room was on first floor at top of very narrow stairs and next to noisy fire door. Room was tiny considering I paid £120 a night, but had high ceilings to lessen the cramped feeling. Two single beds pushed together, two bedside cabinets, a study desk and chair - hardly any remaining space to walk or use ironing board. Tiny cupboard for clothes. Toilet was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, WC, sink and shower, just enough space to dry-off. View from large window was roofs/backs of adjacent buildings and kitchen ventilation equipment and pipes. Curtains just about closed and kept light out. Reasonable bedding, with well-used white towels left on top of bed (why do hotels do that so naff).

Having to leave the hotel at 7am due to fire alarm......possibly burnt toast.....was a shock to system!!!

Buffet Breakfast was very good and very attentive staff.

Free wi-fi was a good added extra, but had to sit in a drab reception area. Hotel is close to Ferry Port and main shops/restaurants in Douglas.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Chesterhouse Hotel. We would like to apologise once again for the fire alarm. As you suggest, our staff are very attentive and strive to create the best possible stay for all of our guests. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, but pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, attentive service and the central location. Your feedback has been taken on board so that we may improve your experience in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was redirected to this hotel from the sister hotel, the Rutland, due to a mix up in booking. I asked if there was WiFi in the room and I was told that there was. On arrival I was given a single room which had peeling wallpaper, a large damp patch in one corner of the ceiling, and NO WIFI! I was told that there was only WiFi in the common areas. Result? I had to make Skype calls late in the evening in the lobby area surrounded by a fascinated coach party of pensioners from Wales. Ideal! The breakfast buffet is not good. Crusty fried eggs swimming in fat, canned mushrooms overcooked bacon and cheap, cheap sausages. Add a "take it or leave it" attitude from management and this is one to avoid.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review of the Chesterhouse Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay with us and are particularly concerned that you were unhappy with the service, which we take the utmost care in delivering. This hotel does have free Wi-Fi and whilst it is strongest in the public areas, this facility is also available in guest bedrooms. We can only assume that on the date of your stay your room did not have a signal and we will look into this. May we thank you for your other constructive feedback and offer our apologies that we did not meet your satisfaction. We note the points you have raised and will address these as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute,and I booked it without checking the reviews(something I wouldnt normally do).So after reading the reviews,I thought oh dear what are we going too.I neednt have worried.It was ideal for us,we were given an upgrade to a seaview room free of charge so far so good.The room was fine clean excellent view the only downside was the size of the bed.It certainly wasnt a double and was very uncomfortable,didnt have one good nights sleep unfortunatly.That was the only downside for us though because everything else was fine breakfasts were great,staff were always polite and friendly and the price for our 3night stay was a bonus and yes we would use this hotel again if the price was as good again.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed TT race week 2012. We were disappointed, the room was very small, the bathroom smelt and there was a previous occupants towel draped in a window. View out over poorly maintained back yard.

We seemed a long way from fire exit stairs and the corridors seemed very narrow. I was glad to leave to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My trip to the IOM was a bit last minute and it was during Manx Grand Prix week so we were charged over £70 each per night for a twin bedroom incl breakfast. The room (214) was small, stuffy, backed onto noisy kitchens and the hotel was a rabbit warren of corridors, fire doors and stairs. The lift was suitable for Snow Whites friends. Chatting to other guests they were paying a more realistic £35/night but they did per book! Best parts were the staff especially Eastern European male on the desk and Barbara in the restaurant - they were brilliant.

Room Tip: Book into a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepwellManagement, Sleepwell Hotels Management Representative at The Chesterhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. As you mentioned, we were very full during the Manx Grand Prix, and our prices were reflective of the occasion and market rates of the other hotels on the island. Despite the influx of guests, as you also suggest it is still very important to us to provide the best service possible. Thank you for your kind words regarding our receptionist and Barbara; your comments have been passed on to the appropriate members of staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chesterhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterhouse Hotel

Address: 37-42 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chesterhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterhouse Hotel Douglas
The Chesterhouse Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesterhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.