We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Claremont Hotel to your Saves list
The Claremont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury Package
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pinner, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We were on a Great Rail Journey organised trip. Hotel faced the sea so the location is great. Our room was really large. Breakfast was amazing and the evening dinners were delicious too. Bathroom was very nice. No complaints at all. Overall very very good.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
67
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. The service is friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and impeccable and the food is always top quality. The staff are friendly and very helpful and make you feel welcome. All in all excellent

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here on several occasions and it is always a great experience. The rooms are beautifully finished and the resturant is very good, both the food and the service. And finally the pancakes for breakfast are to die for!!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights at the Claremont. What a fantastic hotel. We had a lovely room overlooking the bay and, even though we slept with the windows open, there was very little traffic noise. The bathroom was luxurious with a fabulous walk-in shower as well as a bath.

All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming and were always attentive without being overbearing. The food was of excellent quality and quantity. We also loved having a coffee machine with a plentiful supply of coffee pods in our room.

We had a Heritage Package which afforded us unlimited travel on the island's transport system. The Manx Railway and Snaefell Mountain Railway are a must.

We would love to return to the Isle of Man at some future date and when we do will definitely be returning to the Claremont. Just one word describes it "OUTSTANDING!".

Room Tip: We had a sea view Executive room, which was extremely smart. The bathroom was equipped to a superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely room with a bay window overlooking the bay. Nice largeish clean room with large bathroom. Nice full buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Handy for the ferry terminal with the shops nearby.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very happy with our hotel choice in the IOM. The service is impeccable, hotel is 1st class, very clean and well appointed. You won't be disappointed, we are fussy well travelled folk.

The only issue is there is no parking for rental cars, street parking can be a challenge. The hotel staff were happy to do anything. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent as with the service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable well-appointed business hotel. Decent dining room. You won't be unhappy. But there is a strange thing about this hotel. In a quaint place, full of history, it has no charm or distinctiveness. It could be anywhere. So if you want local atmosphere, look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for leaving your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the excellent facilities and high standard of decor at the Claremont. We strive to deliver a business class service, but to do so with both charm and an understated efficiency. We hope that we attained this during your stay and thank you again for your valued and constructive feedback. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel, is officially the highest rated hotel on the Isle of Man and both offers business and leisure visitors an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the '4 Star Gold' Claremont was also recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a 3rd successive year, is a recent winner of the Isle of Man business of the year and was awarded Isle of Man Hotel of the year in 2014. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of 'Business Club' executive standard rooms, the hotel has stunning promenade views across the Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business and retail districts. All 'Business Club' rooms feature super king-sized beds with a Tempur (R) Mattress, Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, Aveda toiletries (R), complimentary high speed wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the work desk, iron and board, bathroom speakers, mini fridge and personal mini-safe. The Claremont also features on site one of the island's finest restaurants, 'Coast Bar and Brasserie', open all day serving an array of local produce, classic cocktails, extensive wine list, lunch, afternoon tea (pre bookable) and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.