We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Claremont Hotel to your Saves list
The Claremont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury Break Offer
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A modern hotel in an old building overlooking Douglas bay. The hotel is first rate in every aspect, the rooms are well appointed, clean, contemporary and very comfortable. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and polite but not overdoing it. The food in their restaurant is very good - breakfast is very good. Overall impression is excellent, highly recommended, though not the cheapest hotel on the prom.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
63
3
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on business in November. Service was warm and professional from reception to restaurant.

The food was reasonably priced and enjoyable with warm attentive service and both breakfast and dinner.

My gripe was regarding the room temperature upstairs. The heating was off but the room was absolutely boiling. I'd assumed i was over the kitchen (room 219) however my colleague was also boiling and was in a room on the other side of the building. It made for uncomfortable night.

I would return because i liked the service and views.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last week. I have now stayed at the Claremont several times and each time have had a sea view room.
Rooms are nice and modern as are the bathrooms. The food in the restaurant is of a good standard although i did have a very bad steak which was sent back on one evening. This was down the poor quality of the meat used and shouldn't even have been on the plate rather than the recipe. This was swiftly dealt with without fuss.
Staff are always friendly and welcoming. I'm due back in a couple of weeks and look forward to staying at the Claremont once more.

Room Tip: Be wary that there is a lift but to get to the front of the building from the lift you still have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

we have just been married and had our reception here and spent 2 nights. good room service. rooms all very clean , staff very good & friendly , food excellent ( cheesecake to die for ) all food made in house . management very helpful and experienced.
thanks for making it a special day.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted to have contributed in a small way towards your very special day. We hope to host you again for any future family celebrations or events you may wish to arrange. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We arrived late and were greeted by Bob on reception who sorted out all the things we needed to know and had us on our way to our room nice and speedily.
We were given a car parking disk, which worked very well. We were able to park outside the hotel but limited to 2 hours at a time between 08.00 and 18.00. Not a problem as we were touring round the island.
The room was not large but perfectly adequate for our five night stay and the housekeeping staff did a good job of cleaning the room each day.
The staff were all friendly and cheerful and it was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant. Breakfasts were good with a good buffet selection - we didn't have a cooked breakfast.
We would certainly go back to this hotel if we visited the island again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I prefer this hotel when staying in the IOM and whilst Im not sure there are any better hotels, i like this Hotel for number of reasons. The room are spacious and recently refurbished to a good standard, contemporary in design. The facilities are what you would expect for the price, and the staff are all very pleasant.
i get the feeling the hotel staff quite happy working here and want to do a good job.
The food is now award winning but is not priced at Michelin star level so id say fair value.
The hotel still need to be tided up in the corridors and is not inexpensive.

Room Tip: sea facing and make sure it one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel in late August. The hotel is in a good location, presents well externally and at reception, but falls short in other areas. Our check in was handled well and we were then directed to the nearby lift to our floor. That was the start of the excursion to room 219. On leaving the lift at the second floor we had to walk down stairs, then up stairs and through six fire doors, down more stairs and up stairs again. Finally got to the room through the very stuffy corridors to find the room was quite hot despite the windows being open and a very mild temperature outdoors. The room was far too small to qualify for 4 star. Either side of the double bed (not king size) was barely 30cm from the wall. Opening the windows wider gave some relief to the heat, but also let in noise from early and late shift staff talking down below. This room should be only offered at a discounted rate.

Room Tip: Avoid room 219. From the fire escape plans on the door of our room, it not only is amongst the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive and helpful feedback and will take all your comments on board to investigate the issues you have raised. As with most hotels we have various rooms and suites with different designs and sizes, which in turn we advertise and price accordingly. All our rooms meet with 4 star standards as a very strict criteria of the independent grading assessment we must undertake on an annual basis. We are sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the particular room in question and ask that when you next return to Douglas, we be offered the opportunity to show you a selection of room types that we have available, so we can allocate to your personal requirements and individual requests. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel offers business and leisure visitors to the Isle of Man an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the 4* star Claremont Hotel was recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and also winner of Isle of Man business of the year. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of ‘Business Club’ executive standard rooms, the hotel has amazing views across Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business district. ‘Business Club’ rooms feature super king-sized beds with Tempur ® Mattress and Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, complimentary wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the standard mini fridge and safe. The Claremont also features one of the island’s finest restaurants, Coast Bar and Brasserie, as well as extensive conference & boardroom facilities, a 24 hour concierge, and business and secretarial support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.