We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pancakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Claremont Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury Break Offer
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Douglas
London UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Delicious light and fluffy pancakes for breakfast were the highlight of this stay. I was moved here as The Chesterhouse which I was originally destined for was overbooked. My room was very clean and spacious with a really comfortable bed, modern shower/wet room, and an unfortunate view of a brick wall. To compensate for the wall I had a separate seating area with a second TV. As I was upgraded for free from their sister hotel, a sea view was probably a bit much to expect! Staff were all polite and helpful, especially one receptionist who checked me on to my flight and printed my boarding pass for me. This would have been a 5 star review but for two things - lack of any climate control in the room, and a ridiculously long wait to check out which made me late for my meeting. The sole receptionist took a 20 minute plus booking enquiry on the phone whilst a queue of people were waiting to check out and in. At one point she had to go into the back office to ask the Reservation Manager a question. My question would have been, why weren't they taking the call?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
48
1
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Last night I stayed here but tonight I'm at the Gatwick Sofitel. Both 4 star but the immediate comparison is obvious. Whilst the staff are very well trained at the Claremont the refurb is more cosmetic. One has to also put this into context of the IOM. They don't do new-builds and air-conditioning is unheard of, although would have been good this week. Probably the best I've stayed at in the IOM but practically I smile when I have to get out of bed to reach the bedside light switch! The IOM is a step back in time so one should allow for this but for a regular traveller don't expect this to compare with global city 4 stars. At least tonight I can turn off my lights without getting out of bed!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Claremont with the specific objective of visiting the historic railways on the island. We went with some good friends of ours and we decided that we did not need a tour manager and this we planned the trip ourselves.
The hotel provided the Heritage Passes for us so that we had unlimited travel on all forms of transport on the island which worked out very well.
The hotel also accommodated the inclusion of our granddaughter by providing a room with an additional bed.
The rooms were very comfortable and the food at breakfast and dinner was to a high standard. The restaurant also were very flexible in providing meals to suit the gastronomic requirements of our granddaughter.
A very enjoyable stay which will encourage us to return to the island and the hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor is best overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week at this lovely hotel and were delighted to be upgraded to a sea view room No 112. It was a lovely room and a superb business box with cellotape, scissors, paper clips, stapler etc - all those things you always need but never pack. We packed our days and consequently slept well despite the late night party goers and the early morning traffic noise because we kept the windows open. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception or dining room staff. Hotel is easy walk from Ferry terminal. £2.70p on service from Airport to outside hotel or £20 taxi ride from airport

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms are less noisy if you are a light sleeper and there in fine weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel during this years TT races. Everything about our experience was first class. The hotel is beautiful and in the best location but better still are the staff. Every member of the team was professional, friendly and full of information to make our stay perfect. We were ideally located at the heart of all the TT celebrations with everything in walking distance. An amazing time was had by all and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I can't say enough about the Claremont. While it was a bit of a splurge compared to the other stops on our trip, it was perfectly located right on the waterfront promenade of Douglas. The building is an old Victorian yet very nicely restored.

The rooms are huge - and reminded me of an old turn of the century (last one) apartment with Bay windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was equally large. The bed was also quite comfortable. The heat was steam (again, very old school) which was great except that it wasn't as easy to control. The walls (well, more the ceiling) was a little thin, but if you ever lived in a vintage apartment building, you can easily look past it. The place is really just charming overall. And you definitely need a sea view room. We even got to see a few of the old horse-drawn trolley cars go by.

We got in a little late, so just ate at the restaurant (which was a fine choice) and also had breakfast there in the morning.

I would agree with others that parking is a bit of a challenge - but if you get there after hours, there is ample parking out front and you can set the dial for 10 when you will need to move it 2 blocks down the road by the ferry terminal where parking is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We traveled here from the U.S. for the TT Motorcycle races. We had a lovely stay in a nice room that was clean despite our constant comings and goings. The staff was very friendly, always helpful, and shared many stories and suggestions for around town activities. They also shared many race day tips! The only suggestion we would make is for air conditioning or some sort of cooling units to be installed. We understood that heat doesn't generally cause an issue in this area but a couple of days we were here it got a bit stuffy. The restaurant was always very accommodating and the food is delicious! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and how the staff understood and accommodated what seemed to be everyone's needs to be in and out quickly (race days were very hectic!). We highly recommend staying here if you are coming to the Isle! If you are coming for race weeks you better book a year in advance :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: 18 - 22 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 Business Hotel in Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting beautifully designed bedrooms, opulent furnishings and a premium location, The Claremont Hotel offers business and leisure visitors to the Isle of Man an unforgettable stay. Following extensive refurbishment to provide an international standard hotel, the 4* star Claremont Hotel was recently awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and also winner of Isle of Man business of the year. With 56 lavishly furnished bedrooms including a number of ‘Business Club’ executive standard rooms, the hotel has amazing views across Douglas Bay and is situated at the heart of the local business district. ‘Business Club’ rooms feature super king-sized beds with Tempur ® Mattress and Hungarian Goose Down pillows, elegant bathrobes, stylish wet room, complimentary wi-fi and DVD player, in addition to the standard mini fridge and safe. The Claremont also features one of the island’s finest restaurants, Coast Bar and Brasserie, as well as extensive conference & boardroom facilities, a 24 hour concierge, and business and secretarial support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Douglas
The Claremont Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Claremont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.