We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Find in Douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Douglas
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Find in Douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We booked 6 nights directly with the hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations. We were late getting to the hotel after a rough crossing from Belfast so we were glad to be on dry land. Sadly we'd missed all the food at the hotel and hadn't been able to face it on the ship. We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff throughout the stay. We were very pleasantly surprised with the standard and size of the room, especially the amount of storage space which was excellent. We had a 37" flat screen television in the room and a 14" flat screen in the bathroom in front of the whirlpool bath. The lift/elevator is decidedly antiquated and we preferred to use the stairs which are a bit narrow. These features give away the age of the building but don't detract too much. Breakfast is a must and much enjoyed, to prepare for the day ahead. There is a pleasant bar where we ate one evening. The location is fine, one road back from the main promenade and we thoroughly enjoyed our windy walks along the prom in either direction. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance. Parking is outside on the street and can be a bit of a lottery if you are late back. We always managed to park more or less outside and some days didn't bother with the car, making good use of the public transport. Definitely recommended for a stay when you are in Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
46
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend break in Douglas. We stayed at the Ascot and found it comfortable with friendly welcoming staff. The room was adequate, shower hard to start unless you have a good grip. Television small, needed binoculars to view it from the bed ( Like to watch news and weather before deciding what to do with the day). We had the superior executive room ! not sure what the difference was. Breakfast was well organised ( later you get down the fresher/hotter the toast etc). Small bar area, no Internet access (essential for teenagers needing Face book) Suggest making direct booking with hotel for directions as google maps showed hotel in several different locations. Brilliant for a base for sightseeing. Location, just of promenade, half way along Douglas bay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed in the Ascot with my husband for a couple of nights as my husband was working. Our first trip to IOM and we loved it. The hotel is clean and very comfortable-we stayed in the chester room which was large,nice flat screen tv and lovely sea view. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The room & bathroom were a little outdated but i would describe it as 'like your favourite aunties house' quaint and cosy. Because of the decor I feel some people who like ultra modern would not like it but if your not too fussy and like somewhere clean,warm and reasonably priced the Ascot is for you. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. Parking is a little tricky as there is no car park but we did manage to park on the street. Its in a good position with a short walk in to town-i enjoyed the shopping!. The Taste of india restaurant (along the promenade)is lovely-book a table as they do get busy.We had a quick meal in Sir normans eating place at the Sefton hotel the food wasn't great but a piano player was there and the atmosphere was good if you fancied a drink.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

Nothing wrong really, but (for my preferences) it would not have suited for a longer holiday-type stay, though I guess things could feel different without the frost and biting wind!
The hotel is not in the best location as its quite a walk to the town centre (well, in the cold, but ok if warmer) and its in a street one back from the sea front. You can see the sea through gaps in other buildings.
Staff friendly enough, though reception not manned all the time. My room was enormous, with corner jacuzzi bath, rocking chair, fax machine, flat screen TV with Sky Sports etc. Furniture was characterful, though bathroom suite a little dated by modern standards, but then the jacuzzi! Rooms are all named after horse-racing connections, with lots of pictures and memorabilia around the hotel. Had to smile at the jockey's horse whip mounted on the wall above my bed!
Only ate breakfast in hotel, and this had good choice of both hot & cold items on self-serve buffet.
So, all in all, ok, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We arrived from Northern Ireland to stay for two nights in this superb family run hotel (three rooms booked in total). The Superior rooms are spectacular and even the standard executive room (one of which we had for a smoker in the party) was of a very high standard. One of the Superior rooms even had a waterproof LCD television and sound system in the bathroom. Great for relaxing in the jaccuzi bath, one of which is fitted as standard in every room. An interesting feature is that all the rooms seem to differ quite a bit in terms of layout.

Food at this hotel is of excellent quality. There is a full buffet style breakfast available, with manx kippers available on request. We also had one evening meal in the hotel as one of our party is coeliac and the hotel was able to fully cater for her needs (as well as those of the rest of us).

This is rated as a three star hotel, but in our experience the quality is that of a four star plus.

Many thanks to Dave and Johnny who helped us so much during our short stay, even booking a restaurant in Douglas centre for us in advance.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Narrow staircase and corridors
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 7 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and luxury at an affordable price, the Ascot Hotel is well known for delivering quality service and facilities at a tariff which won't stretch your wallet. All our rooms have a spa bath fitted as standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Douglas
Ascot Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.