We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good prices however nosey rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DownTown Cafe

DownTown Cafe
40 Duke Street, Douglas im1 2ax
+(44)1624678669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 113 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Grill, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: All our food is home made to order as we believe in a unique american dining experience where service is always with a smile. Please try our island-wide famous menu, cheese steaks, bagels, waffles, pancakes, omelettes, burgers with a lovely cup of coffee.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices however nosey rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My group of friends always use downtown as a base to catch up as the food and prices are very good. There is just one issue that we seem to have and that's one of the staff members. I have witnessed on a number of occasions them being rude and unhelpful to customers. To be told "you should know better" when paying at the counter is terrible customer service. They have also made comments about a friend behind their back whilst in the restaurant which has been overheard. I think that all staff should keep opinions to themselves and not be so rude to their customers. Other than that I love the food and will carry on using. Just a shame about the poor service which is sometimes provided.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownTownCafe, Owner at DownTown Cafe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
dear customer,
first of all i would like to apologize on behalf of my company and my staff about experience you had before. i will not try to defend from our side cause there is no explanation about your criticism which we found it very useful for us to think about. i assure you that all necessary action been taken already ( we had our staff meeting and talk about your review. highlighted our mistakes and promised to give better customer service). we got our lesson and you wont experience anything like this again we promise.
once again apologies for all our mistakes and thank you very much for your time for this very useful review of yours.
your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little bit underwhelming, and a far cry from an American Diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a bland breakfast here. Very limited selection of food. Virtually no vegetarian option. I ordered the cheese omelette which was the most unappetising one I've ever eaten. There was a passing reference to the American diner theme in the odd poster and picture on the wall, but the food and the service did not even vaguely resemble the real thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownTownCafe, Owner at DownTown Cafe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
dear customer,
thanks for your review. we are happy to inform you that we do 62 different food in our cafe and 16 of them are vegetarian option. also we do 13 different waffles and pancakes you can count them as vegetarian. so from 62 different option 28 of them are suitable for vegetarians. this is the highest number of option from any our competitors. plus non of our competitors has that many selections in their menu which we prepare and cook in front of our customers freshly.
your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a real favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent service, great food. Nice to pop in and have lunch now and again. Steak sandwich highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

As an American visiting the Isle of Man, I was thrilled to find an easy place with good familiar food in a relaxed atmosphere. The cheese steaks are delicious. I like the burgers with cheddar cheese. Good coffee. Combo of dining tables and couches. Free WiFi. I'll be back to try the pancakes and the bagels. Clean bathroom

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The waffles here are divine! The food here is really delicious and great value for money. A lovely family friendly cafe with great food and friendly staff!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DownTown Cafe also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to DownTown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DownTown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.