We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a bit apprehensive as I an m no a fan of Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Manilla

New Manilla
Marathon Terrace, Douglas
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
isle of man
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Was a bit apprehensive as I an m no a fan of Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked this meal as a gift , for our friend`s Anniversary. the menu is not too big but varied enoughtoo satisfy most people We all had starter`s and main meal`s which were lovely we all enjoyed different meal`s. 2 of us had dessert`s including the biggest and best Banana boat I have ever had,We had 4 drink`s each 2 of us had beer Singha and Tsing Tao, 2 had Vodka and Coke . the total bill was only £135 fantastic value for money, they also do take away`s .Will definitely return

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was okay but small dishes especially for the price. We were in and out within an hour as they asked us to leave because they needed the table. No warning of this when we booked! they Did not ask if we wanted any more drinks they just handed us the bill so our night was cut very short!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice place - will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We normally eat out on a Sunday. The New Manila has only recently started opening on a Sunday so we took the time to check it out.

The dining area was clean and the decor was modern.

After the cast of Shameless left (due to there being no chicken and chips on the menu!! I kid you not) we were brought the menu. We selected starters and the waiter helpfully offered to plate them on one long plate so we could share. Great idea!!

Starters were excellent when they arrived.

Main courses were good too and two emplty plates swiftly ensued.

Recommended and will definitely return. Prices were around average for the Isle of Man where eating out is more expensive that a north west UK city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Our meal here was fantastic! Food was gorgeous, service great and brilliant value for money. Can't wait to go again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went Saturday night, very busy, abit squashed in too many tables in room. Staff very friendly, Menu good choices, already been told portion sizes very small so ordered 6 dishes for 4 of us, flavours good and well presented but have tasted better on Island at different resturant. Thought prices were a little high for portion sizes, dont thing will go again but only for the fact of the portion sizes and i am not a big eater

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Manilla also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to New Manilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Manilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.