We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haneffe's Bar & Grill at the Savoy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Haneffe's Bar & Grill at the Savoy
Central Promenade, Douglas
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 113 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Value for money. Varied menu and they serve the best fish & chips on the island. Go with a big appetite the portions are huge. Friendly family run business.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had not made specific plans for St. Valentine's dinner but very glad to have decided to try here. The food was excellent and the ambience was great. Very reasonably priced and well worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
000001
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor Meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we went to the savoy at the weekend and were not impressed, one of us had the menu for £10.95 january special there wasnt many good starters to choose from and we did eventually choose the Scollops and rissotto & spring rolls with asian sald these were both very small starters and cheap food and not that hot either think this had been microwaved, we then chose salmon with leek and onion with mash and a parsley sauce this looked like a childs dinner and was not served with any veg so was very bland partner chose steak and all the trimmings the mushrooms were not cooked white in colour and the tomoto wasnt cooked either the diane sauce was far to much over the steak not good and no onion rings served with the steak, the desserts were very small and werent that hot, we have been a few times now and this was expensive meal & poor cheap food, we wont be ever returning again we will be eating in from now on.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awful - Christmas Past”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Haneffe's was booked by a colleague for our team christmas party and we had the festive menu.

Quantity over quality does not equate to an enjoyable culinary experience.

My husband and I had the Chilli & Garlic Pan Fried Prawns to start. Four over cooked rubbery prawns (which tasted like they had been cooked in the microwave) were bland and inspirational and came with an extremely tired salad garnish.

My husband had ordered Roasted Peppers Stuffed With A Duxelle, Brie and Crumbs Then Grilled, with Vegetables. Awful. He couldn't eat it. There were two peppers which were drowning in some sort of white sauce (which wasn't expected and my husband doesn't like white sauces). It came with rock hard broccoli and cauliflower and a couple of limp carrots. It also came with a huge Yorkshire pudding and a hard stuffing ball...! "Luckily" one of our party didn't turn up and their braised sirloin steak was spare so the husband swapped his plate of peppers for the steak. It was the lesser of two evils.

I had the Traditional Turkey & Ham With All The Trimmings. It was slightly better than my husbands two dishes, but I did have a piece of string in my meal.

Cheese and biscuits was our dessert. They had obviously been left out of the fridge for a while. We didn't have a knife and there was no offer of one so we picked them up from a vacant table of which there were many.

Our 'meal' was supposed to have been completed with tea, coffee and minced pies. These didn't appear.

We ordered a bottle of wine. The young waiter advised that there was one bottle on the list wasn't available however when we made our choice, we were informed that that also wasn't available.

The staff were pleasant enough but not the most attentive.

The meal cost £27.95 — it wasn't worth half of that.

Other reviewers commented on the decor; they are correct. It really needs an overhaul. It is jaded and tired. There is mildew on the window frames, paper table cloths, tired crockery, cheap laminate flooring which is slippery. It's not accessible; the entrance to the restaurant is via the main hotel entrance which is up several steep steps (it's not clearly marked as the way in to the restaurant). If you have any disability, you may have problems getting in.

We won't be returning. Ever. And will not recommend to any friends or family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas isle of man
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ONE THE BEST FOOD ON THE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having heard couple of good reviews on the food from mates... i decided to try it as i love eating out... was expecting it to be decent enough... but too my suprise the grub was absolutley beautiful... took the misses and kid with me and they both loved it... portions are massive and prices similar too lots of other places ice been too... service is sound too and on a good day its nice to have a table by the window looking onto the beach... would defo recommend it to people and ive been back quite afew times since....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service & good price. Highly recomended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have eaten here twice and both times the food has been amazing and the service is first class. We had a perfect evening (again). We found out when we arrived that there are deals on in November. Even when I phoned to book the table, the lady I spoke to was really pleasant & friendly. Yes it needs a lick of paint, but you can't fault the food, the atmosphere or the service. Will definately be going again. I disagree that the food is expensive, I found it very reasonably priced on both occasions, even without the November deal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haneffe's Bar & Grill at the Savoy also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Haneffe's Bar & Grill at the Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haneffe's Bar & Grill at the Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.