We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cat with No Tail Pub

The Cat with No Tail Pub
Hailwood Court, Hailwood Avenue, Douglas
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived Sunday 2nd June for the tt after travelling wanted to go and have a couple of drinks and something to eat so we decided to come here after being here over the previous year. When arrived at 7.30 asked for menus as sign said kitchen was open until 8.30 we where told that the kitchen was closed due to being too busy and couldn't cope with the orders but if we wanted to order and wait for an hour or so we said not a problem then they came back to us and said we couldn't order was very disappointed to say they least I'm sure this is the only time that the place is packed during tt time and would want to make as much money as possible but obviously not!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service with a cheerful welcome as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Value for money food , beer, TT race coverage in the evenings on big screen tvs great live music, open for breakfast.
Staff polite respectful and appreciate bikers

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“well impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

this was our local during a visit to the extremely busy tt. despite this the staff were cheerful and couldnt have done better the food, a simple pub food choice was excellent, not cordon blue! .. but good portions well cooked, ideal fare...concerned with negative reviews hereon can't imagine its the same place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cracking fish and chips!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent simple pub food, served promptly by obliging staff during a busy TT fortnight. Free WIFI and regular live music tops it off!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Berkshire UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Meeting Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Where many fans meet up during TT Fortnight...Food and good beer make it all a good evening. Everyone knows of the CAt so when we say we'll meet up in the CAT we know where we are going that evening.R

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cat with No Tail Pub also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Cat with No Tail Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cat with No Tail Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.