We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above And Beyond 3 Star !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Above And Beyond 3 Star !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Do yourself a favour and stay at the Welbeck , I haven`t stayed in the hotel rooms , but have enjoyed a week in one of their appartments last year,, and two weeks this year , with my mother ,sister and young family . First of all , the staff are outstanding and are a credit to the hotel owners. Quality of Cleanliness , service , food and facilities are first rate ,and location is far enough from the town centre without being too far . 10/10 .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
76
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

First visit to the Isle of Man, and will definitely be returning to this hotel! From the first phone call, spoke to Irene, v helpful, made sure we had a sea view.. When we met Irene she was soo nice and friendly, and all the staff were the same nothing was too much trouble, and they obviously enjoyed working at the Welbeck. The room was fantastic, all the little touches made it like home from home.. Beds v comfy, lounge area with comfy sofa and tv. Bathroom was lush, the shower, wow. there is no negative to this hotel, all positives. Absolutely loved it, very special break for me and my mum, who has been ill recently, this was just the tonice she needed! Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We recently visited the Isle of Man for a weekend and stayed at the Welbeck on the basis of TA posts and we were not disappointed. We had an apartment at the top of the building - nice bedroom with huge comfy bed, bathroom with over bath shower, living area and small kitchinette with a sea view! On the positive side, the apartment was fully equipped with hairdryer, trouser press, iron, cd player, microwave, dishwasher etc., on the negative, decor was somewhat tired and it was quite a lengthy climb up narrow stairs and a lift to get there - definitely not for the less mobile!
Bar and restaurant were very nicely decorated - breakfast was hot and plentiful. We had dinner one evening which again was very nice, extensive menu and good value. Service throughout was excellent and staff were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

The staff, the accommodations, the food, the room and the very best of all ...the bathroom...what a wonderful spot to stay. There were 4 of us and we each shared a twin room...the staff were very,very helpful. We were amazed at how much they did and how at ease everything was. The staff were youthful and it was a pleasure to see that they have already learned the art of customer service. Though our stay was only for a weekend, it was a very relaxing stay to say the least. two snaps way up!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Booked on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Arrived by the horse drawn tram, then a few minutes walk up the hill from the promenade. Our room on third floor had a very good view of the seafront, very comfortable bed and good room facilities, including safe, TV,Coffee/Tea facilities with biscuits and two bottles of water a day was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was very good with hot freshly cooked food, didn't eat in the evening but there always seemed to be a fair number of people eating, with a varied menu. We used the sports facility, ie got a card from reception, which is at the end of the Hilton hotel, a few minutes walk away. You can use the gym/pool from 1000-1900, with towels etc there, £1 for the lockers, but we stayed beyond 1900 with no problems, the pool is about 15m long with jacuzzi and steam rooms. The staff were cheerfull and eager to assist. The only negative was leaving our bag on our last day expecting a baggage room, but was told to leave it in a corner of the bar, but it was there when we returned. The lift is also a tight squeeze, only good for 2 people. We used the explorer travel card for our 3 day break, but there was parking available on the road outside, even on the promenade it was 24hour free parking. There are plenty of bars/restaurants nearby, the Taj Mahal was good for curry. You could walk into town in 10-15 minutes as the hotel is roughly in the middle of the bay, ie 10 minutes to the elecric railway terminus. Overall good value £80/night and a comfortable quiet base close to the centre of Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is the second time i have stayed here,after the recommendation of a colleague.I enjoyed this second visit just as much as my first visit.The variety and quality of fresh food is excellent.The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped for the business traveller,with free WIFI and Sky sports.
The bar area is comfotable and friendly for solo travellers.Although i was on business there seemed to be plenty of help and information for tourists.There is also an agreement with a nearby health club for free use of facilities.
Request a parking disc from reception,as a lot of the town centre areas are disc controlled parking.My favorite place was Port Erin overlooked by Bradda Head.The Only drawback to this hotel is that parking is on the road on a steep hill .You have to touch lucky with how far up the hill you are,may be difficult for people with mobility difficulties.It is also difficult to transfer luggage in and out.The Hotel is only about 500 yards from the Promenade.No views from the hotel as it is on a side street.I will definately recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues coming over to the Island.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Stayed for our honeymoon. Requested room 404 which was the most expensive at £95 a night but has a panoramic view of Douglas bay - despite the hotel being one street back from the prom. Hotel is a 10min walk to the centre of Douglas but there are places to eat closer.

Room was spacious and clean. Massive bed, sofa, table and chair in the window overlooking bay, tea & coffee facilities, flat screen telly, sky sports, fantastic bath/shower. What more do you need?

Ate in the hotel on first night. £20 for 3 courses - not cheapest but very nice. Breakfast was more than sufficient, good choice, excellent service.

Free access to Hilton gym - 2 mins walkaway. Didn't use it though.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Isle of Man Hotel of the Year 2010, nominated 2008 & 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.