We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Booked on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Arrived by the horse drawn tram, then a few minutes walk up the hill from the promenade. Our room on third floor had a very good view of the seafront, very comfortable bed and good room facilities, including safe, TV,Coffee/Tea facilities with biscuits and two bottles of water a day was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was very good with hot freshly cooked food, didn't eat in the evening but there always seemed to be a fair number of people eating, with a varied menu. We used the sports facility, ie got a card from reception, which is at the end of the Hilton hotel, a few minutes walk away. You can use the gym/pool from 1000-1900, with towels etc there, £1 for the lockers, but we stayed beyond 1900 with no problems, the pool is about 15m long with jacuzzi and steam rooms. The staff were cheerfull and eager to assist. The only negative was leaving our bag on our last day expecting a baggage room, but was told to leave it in a corner of the bar, but it was there when we returned. The lift is also a tight squeeze, only good for 2 people. We used the explorer travel card for our 3 day break, but there was parking available on the road outside, even on the promenade it was 24hour free parking. There are plenty of bars/restaurants nearby, the Taj Mahal was good for curry. You could walk into town in 10-15 minutes as the hotel is roughly in the middle of the bay, ie 10 minutes to the elecric railway terminus. Overall good value £80/night and a comfortable quiet base close to the centre of Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    37
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
75
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is the second time i have stayed here,after the recommendation of a colleague.I enjoyed this second visit just as much as my first visit.The variety and quality of fresh food is excellent.The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped for the business traveller,with free WIFI and Sky sports.
The bar area is comfotable and friendly for solo travellers.Although i was on business there seemed to be plenty of help and information for tourists.There is also an agreement with a nearby health club for free use of facilities.
Request a parking disc from reception,as a lot of the town centre areas are disc controlled parking.My favorite place was Port Erin overlooked by Bradda Head.The Only drawback to this hotel is that parking is on the road on a steep hill .You have to touch lucky with how far up the hill you are,may be difficult for people with mobility difficulties.It is also difficult to transfer luggage in and out.The Hotel is only about 500 yards from the Promenade.No views from the hotel as it is on a side street.I will definately recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues coming over to the Island.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Stayed for our honeymoon. Requested room 404 which was the most expensive at £95 a night but has a panoramic view of Douglas bay - despite the hotel being one street back from the prom. Hotel is a 10min walk to the centre of Douglas but there are places to eat closer.

Room was spacious and clean. Massive bed, sofa, table and chair in the window overlooking bay, tea & coffee facilities, flat screen telly, sky sports, fantastic bath/shower. What more do you need?

Ate in the hotel on first night. £20 for 3 courses - not cheapest but very nice. Breakfast was more than sufficient, good choice, excellent service.

Free access to Hilton gym - 2 mins walkaway. Didn't use it though.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is certainly better than your run-of-the mill hotel or than its arbitrary 3-star rating suggests. Staff are mostly good, although occasionally a bit too rushed and rough around the edges. However, they are very attentive and courteous. My deluxe-room could have been described as very nice if it had not been for the second bed they had put in. That nullified one of the main criteria for justifiably using the word ‘deluxe’ (and the extra charge) – space. Therefore, it was more a family room and not exactly what I had booked and paid for. Also, it was next to the lift, which was slightly annoying at times due to the noise. All in all it is worth considering if you come to the Isle of Man and look for a nice, reasonably priced place to stay. Personally, I’d prefer The Regency on the Promenade, where I could not get a room this time.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Wasted space in room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Returning to the Isle of Man after a break of some 20 years, accompanied this time by 3 teenagers and my mum, I was slightly apprehensive to say the least! I picked The Welbeck after reading a couple of favourable Tripadvisor reviews, and luckily they could accomodate our very specific room/date requirements. The children's triple room was superb and all 3 rooms were well furnished and spotlessly clean. We loved the addition of biscuits and water to the standard 'tea-tray' - a nice touch.
Breakfast was a leisurely affair and we appreciated the availability of fruit and yogurt alongside the usual cereal. The 'Full Manx' cooked breakfast was delicious and we explored numerous permutations!
We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Welbeck and were relieved to find that the Isle of Man hadn't changed much at all!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the rooms, the lovely bathroom and the tea-tray!!
  • Disliked — Nothing to mention!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Isle of Man Hotel of the Year 2010, nominated 2008 & 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.