We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I spent a four day break last week in the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom was first class. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath and shower plus a hand shower for hair washing. I had my evening meals in the bar which were delicious and good value for money. I hope to return next year for a longer time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    37
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
75
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Travelled to Isle of Man with two friends, had a three bed room for £120.00. Room was really nice and spacious, but no soap in the bathroom which was strange.

All the Staff were really friendly and allowed us to keep our bicycles in the hotel until the rental company collected.

Customer lift was shocking, only room for two.

Bar was great and stayed open late.

Breakfast was average at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savonlinna, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel I cannot commend enough! The rooms, and the fact the hotel, are extremely comfortable, and decorated with excellent taste. The reception staff were warm, friendly and most helpful. It has a reputation for good food, and the staff, a bit slow, but were smart and generally efficient. The quiet location is ideal for the promenade, two minutes down the steep hill, for horse trams and buses. The town and the Electric Mountain Railway are in easy walking distance. A would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Everything excellent as usual, can't praise highly enough. Room, food, staff the most friendly you will ever come accross, we are back again in September, can't arrive soon enough. Anybody thinking of visiting the Island the Welbeck is a must.
Thanks for a lovely time. Linda & Andy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Welbeck Hotel has to be one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in with a level of service that is hard to beat. The room was very well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, hair dryer, ironing board and trouser press and a good sized safe to keep your valuables in (I used it to store my laptop). An excellent shower over the full size bath and always plenty of hot water available.

The breakfast was an excellent start to the day with fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice etc and a freshly cooked hot selection ranging from scrambled egg on toast all the way through to a full Manx breakfast with two poached eggs, bacon, beans, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomato and toast with as much tea or coffee as you wanted.

The evening meal in the dining room was equally impressive with attentive waiter/waitress service and a TDH option for an excellent 3 course meal. We ordered dinner whilst sat at the bar and were then taken through to the dining room when dinner was ready to be served.

The bar area is a great place to get together with friends and we also tried the bar menu. It has to be said there was no discernible difference in the quality of what was served, with equal care and attention to ensure our satisfaction.

The hotel is situated just one road back from the Promenade so means that any of the noise associated with the sea front is avoided but it's only a minute to walk to the beach or a five minute walk to the Villa Marina where the main bars, shops and restaurants start.

As you may have guessed already, this wasn't my first stay here, it was my 11th visit to the Isle of Man TT and I've stayed at The Welbeck every time. I've stayed at other hotels around Douglas when I've been over on business trips so I've had plenty of opportunity to compare and that's why I keep coming back to The Welbeck.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was unsure about staying in Douglas during TT week due to the noise. This hotel is situated just off the promenade and it was the perfect location, within easy reach of the town but it wasn't affected by the noise of the late night bars. It is a very comfortable hotel, even if a little dated in decor and it is clean. The staff are very warm and friendly. I have enjoyed my stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive content of this review. It would be helpful to know which aspects of the Hotel you feel are dated. The Welbeck is constantly being refurbished, so it would be interesting to see whether it is the public areas, an older room or if in your opinion, our taste lacks a modern touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Although slightly dated in appearance the Welbeck was warm and cosy and the staff were friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Didn't try the restaurant but regretted it as it looked very busy and our own choice wasn't that great. It's quite close to the casino in the Palace Hotel too which is good. On arrival we followed the directions on the website walking from the sea terminal but they were for a car round the one way system and involved a super-steep hill so if you are walking do the sensible thing and keep to the promenade and turn off at the appropriate road! (Probably quite straightforward for the intelligent). This is still quite a hilly approach for the less than agile. We booked via kgb deals so it was excellent value for money for us.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Isle of Man Hotel of the Year 2010, nominated 2008 & 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.