We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welbeck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Welbeck Hotel to your Saves list
The Welbeck Hotel
Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Welbeck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent three nights at the at the Welbeck could not fault this hotel, everything about it was spot on. Rooms food and management and staff where great, if we ever go back the isle of Man this is the hotel we would stay inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    37
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
75
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

An excellent hotel. Good sized room - fridge (2 bottles of water replaced daily), safe and even an iron and ironing board, bathroom first class.
Breakfast couldn't be beaten on quality, choice or service.
Reastaurant of an evening was far better than any others we tried in Douglas, the food was delicious, the service friendly and efficient and they even had an excellent Merlot for £13 !
If we go to the Isle of Man again we will certainly stay in the Welbeck.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I first stayed at the Welbeck Hotel in September 2010. We liked it so much that we came back for another week's stay at the beginning of July 2011. We had a deluxe room that was huge. It came complete with fridge, a small safe and all the other usual facilities.
Breakfast was to a very high standard and the evening meals were superb, and realistically priced.
The difference between a good hotel and a great one comes down to the level of service and the attitude of the staff. The standard of service at the Welbeck was simply excellent, and the staff made us feel so welcome. They genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. This applied to every staff member, whether front line or not.
To sum up we would not stay anywhere else on the Isle of Man, except at the Welbeck.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was our second visit to the island, but first stay in Douglas and just a couple of minutes from the ferry. I always trust tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed! Lovely friendly staff, spotless room with generous quantity of tea/coffee facilities, room serviced each day, very comfy bed (and we have experienced some dreadful beds, sometimes described as comfy, but this was excellent!) Bathroom well equpped with a brilliant shower (again not a trickle like you get in so many hotels)
Breakfast was plentiful and service excellent. Parking was very convenient just up the hill and we walked into main part of Douglas each evening. Comfy couch in room. we were on the 4th floor, right at the top of the building but there is a small lift. Would definitely stay again, thank you to all for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We thought this hotel was very good. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-equipped, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Michael and Irene with the help of their team always make every visit feel special.

The room was spotlessly clean on arrival and was serviced every day. The room has a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, a safe, a shower that could pin you to the wall if you turned it up far enough and a very large flat screen TV with plenty of channels to choose from.

Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel and there's a PC in the bar for guests to use who don't have a smart phone or their laptop with them.

The bar was always well stocked and Michael even brought in a few crates of 'London Pride' after one of our party asked if he had any behind the bar.

The restaurant was faultless be it for breakfast or an evening meal. You could start the day with anything from a bowl of fruit and some yoghurt right the way up to a freshly cooked breakfast with as much tea and toast as you asked for. Lunch was hardly ever required as we saved ourselves for the 3 course TDH meal at the end of the day which again was cooked to perfection and served in pleasant and comfortable surroundings.

Every member of the team at The Welbeck Hotel was always helpful and friendly from a cheery Good Morning at the start of the day to a pleasant Good Night after the sun had gone down on yet another relaxing and enjoyable stay at the best run family hotel on the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently for our anniversary and loved this hotel. The deluxe room was well appointed, clean, big bed, big bath, fridge, lots of storage, and a LCD tv. Owners were attentive and friendly, and helped out with any queries. Location seemed a bit of a walk to main nightlife, but is on the front and around a few other hotels. Parking on the street around the hotel is a challenge though, prepare for a short walk!

Breakfast was lovely with good service, though on our final day it was busy so it all seemed to go to pot as it took 3 attempts to get my partners order right, and even then the eggs were fried and not the poached asked for!

Overall, it was exactly what we were after and were delighted with our stay! Would recommend to anyone wanting a stay in Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Isle of Man Hotel of the Year 2010, nominated 2008 & 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Welbeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.