We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steve Dedman's at the Regency

Steve Dedman's at the Regency
Queen's Promenade, 9-10 Palace Terrace, Douglas IM2 4NN
01624 676000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peel, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were met by the head waitress who stated that as we had had to cancel a previous booking for a taster menu Chef Dedman was offering us a six course taster menu for this stay. We were asked for any dislikes and left the rest to chef including wines. The food was excellent and the wines served matched brilliantly. nothing appeared to be too much trouble, the service was relaxed with attention to detail. Chef was visible though-out and spent 10 minutes talking at the tables at the end of the evening. An anniversary meal to remember.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“still no veggie options.... but the fish was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we had dinner there with a client last week and there was not a veggie choice as either a starter or main course!!! very disappointing. However, I do eat some fish and had some good halibut followed by delicious raspberry soufflé. When will the chef realise that if he offered veggie choices i, and that then means my husband and our friends who are not veggie would all visit more often? Come on Steve, start accommodating vegetarians as you are not only losing the vegetarians business, but that of their carnivorous family and friends too!!
the meat eaters among our party of three said their beef was lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the Regency in March 2012 on the recommendation of friends on the Island from across. We were all made to feel extremely welcome in the cosy traditional style bar. The menu, service and atmosphere was excellent and the food was totally stunning. The meal was not cheap and we did not expect it to be from a chef of this standard. So good that we are planning a few days in Douglas soon just to visit again. 2 food critics in our group were totally impressed

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“1st rate service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great evening at Steve Dedman's restaurant at The Regency. As we went on Valentine's day, it was a fixed menu but there was flexibility and they allowed us to order what we fancied! The food was superb, the service excellent.....it is quite expensive by IOM standards but it is worth paying the extra for.....a very positive dining experience and can't wait to go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best meals I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Chef Steve is definitely a Master of his craft. Everything was cooked perfectly and presented so beautifully I almost felt bad ruining it by eating it. I had the Sautéed King Scallops as a starter, the locally caught Halibut with Buttered Sprouts & Pancetta and the Honey & Chilli Roasted Parsnips for my main and the Hot Raspberry Soufflé for dessert. Simply Amazing! The Halibut was better than any fish we have caught ourselves in the Bahamas and cooked that night. The Raspberry Soufflé with raspberry sorbet was so delicious I didn't want to eat or drink anything after to prolong the taste. 5 stars doesn't even seem enough. If you are looking for a gourmet melt in your mouth dinner, give this place a try! And just go with whatever Chef Steve recommends for that night, you won't be sorry.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve Dedman's at the Regency also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Steve Dedman's at the Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steve Dedman's at the Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.