We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch in a relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant

Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant
24 Castle Street, Douglas IM1 2EZ
01624 613650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are delighted to add a fourth location to our family of restaurants. Previously known as Copperfields Edwardian Restaurant, our new central Douglas location is a perfect mix of old world charm and great seasonal food. Already famous throughout the island, you’ll discover everything you love about Harbour Lights right in the centre of Douglas. Open daily from 10am for Breakfast, we also offer our famous comfort classics menu throughout the day featuring the very best of local produce. Sample our welsh rarebit with smoked salmon or huge beer battered cod served with seasonal vegetables and potato of the day. Alternatively take a break from shopping and pop in for a quick coffee and cake, served all day.Our entire team (many of whom will be familiar) look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new location.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

One of the things to go there.....scones-amazing.The best which I ever had.With nice cream and jam.Really delicious.Recommend it.Service-really friendly and quickly.Turkey lunch-taste and quit big portion.My girlfriend had a Christmas Pudding with brandy sauce-excellent.Just to say lovely place in the middle of the capital.We will deffinitly go back.Thanks for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    47
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Beautifully cooked fish! The staff were very friendly even when we stayed late. Definitely recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Time Travel IOM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at 7.58pm on a Saturday night in the middle of the 'capitol' of Isle of Man. "Sitdown quickly, we're about to close." What a great attitude from the teenage staff - they don't set the opening times. Felt like 1975 - prawn cocktail was on the menu. Sadly no french onion soup, duck a l'orange, nor Black Forest gateaux.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quirky...Step back in time with service and quality food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are 4 Aussies traveling the UK who went on recommendation from our B&B Owner . Initially it seems a bit "dowdy" and old fashioned. But the service is old fashioned... the staff are extremely polite and helpful, and the food was delicious.The meals were a sensible portion size. After 6 weeks of traveling it was totally different experience to most restaurants and pubs encountered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, Great service and Cosy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have visited the Isle many times before, but only just discovered this little gem on my last visit!
The staff are so lovely and polite. Service is prompt! Food is in generous portions.
We did not wait long for the food to be served. All meals are very well presented.
The setting is very quaint, and so warm and welcoming. Prices are very reasonable indeed!!
We had our breakfast and tea here, as the food was so delicious!! We had a hot chocolate one evening and it came served on a tray with cream served in a small triangle shaped dish and three delicious marshmellows stacked together, so appetizing!!
If you need a highchair, one can be provided. There are no steps entering onto this establishment, but there are a few to climb to upstairs toilets, About 9 steps, but it is not too steep. There is also an Edwardian parlor downstairs. Again just a few steps, but worth it, if you can manage them.
You can book the table by the window also if you wish. We had a very generous 3 course meal and the total cost including two drinks cost approximately £65.00 for two. It was worth every penny!! Whilst eating in the restaurant, you could overhear many people giving compliments to the chef! There are other Harbour Light Cafe & Restaurants in Peel, Ramsey, and Port St Mary. Highly recommended. I look forward to my next visit!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.