We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy diner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant

Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant
24 Castle Street, Douglas IM1 2EZ
01624 613650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are delighted to add a fourth location to our family of restaurants. Previously known as Copperfields Edwardian Restaurant, our new central Douglas location is a perfect mix of old world charm and great seasonal food. Already famous throughout the island, you’ll discover everything you love about Harbour Lights right in the centre of Douglas. Open daily from 10am for Breakfast, we also offer our famous comfort classics menu throughout the day featuring the very best of local produce. Sample our welsh rarebit with smoked salmon or huge beer battered cod served with seasonal vegetables and potato of the day. Alternatively take a break from shopping and pop in for a quick coffee and cake, served all day.Our entire team (many of whom will be familiar) look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new location.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was just a small cosy diner, more like eating at home rather than having a meal out. A bit expensive for what was dished up, but as I said was just like having a meal at home.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    47
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Just brilliant - so much choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful food, excellent setting and brilliant staff all in the middle of Douglas .. so when you finished the shopping its just the place to eat and relax or for a perfect meal before the theatre or just go there cos the food is good and for the location. Try Manx kippers, Manx Queenies or Manx Pork or Steak and Okells pie (Okells the local brewery) or just Max afternoon tea - whatever time of day or evening you want to eat there is something to suit everyone

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Before-Theater Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the perfect place to have dinner before going to the Gaity Theater. Our group of six was fed a delicious seafood dinner by an efficient wait staff and a talented chef. We were in and out in one hour. Never have I had such delicious, tender moist salmon. All of us enjoyed our meals so much, we returned three evenings later when we didn't have to rush off to a performance. And the salmon was just as tasty. Great desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went for dinner on Saturday. Very quaint décor and friendly staff. I had the smoked salmon, vegetarian lasagne and the ice cream sundae. Just my sort of food. The service was good. I would certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Perfect for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner - the surroundings are quaint and the quality of the food is excellent, local and plentiful. This is a quality restaurant in central Douglas, masquerading as a café.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.