We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's day ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 14 North

14 North
14 North Quay, Douglas
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Valentine's day ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Absolutely amazing, awesome food and really good value for money. Well worth the the money I paid. Definitely worth coming back the staff were so relaxed on such a busy night and the chefs were awesome for putting that menu together they deserve a pint at least and thank you once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    53
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ok but very pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Some very fancy titles for basic food that costs a fortune. Cramped cafe for the "IN" crowd took my kids here for lunch ended up paying nearly £40 for 3 of us for a pizza, a ham sandwich and soup!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Getting better all the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The last time I went to 14 North I had one of the tastiest meals I've had anywhere, for ages - a lovely take on Manx queenies (with pesto) followed by delicious local Loaghtan Lamb. The restaurant's been getting better all the time and is a real credit to the owner and staff. It still feels a bit like an upmarket seaside cafe and the upstairs can be a bit soulless, but I really like it. I was a whisker away from giving it a 5,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic NYE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had an NYE booking here with friends fir their special 5 course meal including cocktail for £45 pp. We had a fantastic time, the foid was scrumptious, the staff were fab, the champagne flowed and wegad fun with the crackers and poppers. Cant wait gor the next time we go!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yes But No But Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I had received good reports about 14 North so was looking forward to a great evening.
We were greeted by a friendly member of staff, who showed us to our table & left us with the menus & wine list which has a good range of wines for such a small place.
We stared with Bread & some superb olives, Manx Queenies in their shells, delicious, Foie Gras, disappointing. To follow we had Roasted Monk Fish, very good, Ribeye Steak, Slow cooked Lamb, which was tasty but the presentation was poor. We washed this down with 2 bottles of Louis Latour's Pinot Noir.
The staff & Maitre d' are excellent & nothing is too much trouble for them. For their sake I would have liked to have given a better rating. The problem is that for the price point, this is not cheap, I expect better presentation .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 14 North also viewed

 

Been to 14 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 14 North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.