We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sefton Hotel to your Saves list
Sefton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Howden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recently had sunday lunch at the Sefton. Superb. Start with a glass of bubbles then a buffet choice for starter, main and pudding. Listening to wonderful live music.

Food is served buffet style in the beautiful attrium. Wide range of options - salads, seafood, pates and cold meats in addition to the roast meats and vegetables. If you wanted soup or hot fish this was available from the kitchen. I was advised by my husband that it was one of the best roast beefs he had had in a long time. (I had the fish).

The option of having salads and cold meats meant you did not have to have the roast and all its trimmings - leaving space for one or more of the dozen choices of sweet.

Good food, good service. Greta place

Room Tip: Did not stay on this occassion. But previously opted for atrium room, quieter at night and feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your "Sunday Lunch" at the Sefton. Our lunches are very popular and we are delighted you and your husband enjoyed our food and the service provided. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    114
    72
    33
    14
See reviews for
44
131
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Well dodgy goings on here. Visited in March and was told that pool was being refurbished. Was also told this in December 2012, October 2012, June 2012, March 2012, February 2012, December 2011, October 2011 and August 2011. There will now follow a feeble excuse why customers were being mislead.

Not sure what makes this 4****. Perhaps its the quality of other surrounding hotels or perhaps 1 owner has got a strangle hold which would be broken on mainland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Four of us ate here on a fairly busy Monday evening in Sir Norman Wisdom's bar and restaurant.
We had been intrigued and delighted by a bronze of the eponymous comedian on the bench outside the hotel.The two men in our party of four had prawn cocktail and home made soup whilst our wives shared a plate of bread and dips. I must say that I am not generally a fan of Beef and Guinness pie because almost always the pastry wins over the contents but in this case large pies contained substantial amounts of delicious manx beef. My wife made up the mains with a homemade lasagne. Drinks consisted of two glasses of Okells bitter as the guest ale and 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Carling shandy for the ladies. The meal was well complemented by a great value Vicuna Merlot from Chile a superb house wine priced at £12.55. Because of the big portions no one had a pudding and the bill for four amounted to £75.60 before optional service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review following your meal at Sir Norman's. We are pleased you enjoyed our food and found your meal good value for money. We do try and source as much of our produce as we can from the local market and the manx beef is as you say delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 23/24th March. Very spacious sea view room with flat screen tv, small fridge with bottled water and fresh milk. Iron and board, tea, coffee hot chocolate and biscuits, small dish of mints. A lovely big comfortable bed and a nice sofa too. The bathroom was huge with full bath, separate walk in shower, toilet sink and bidet, good toiletries provided. Baltic weather conditions outside with howling wind, our room was really cold, but a call to reception and a heater was promptly delivered to us, so problem sorted thankfully and we were nice and warm after that. Great location, short walk to all the shops, theatre next door. Fantastic meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night, beautifully presented and attentive service with a smile. Manager apologised for how cold the room was even though the heating was on. Great breakfast the following morning, no complaints at all about the food or service. Restaurant is closed in winter on a Sunday evening so we ate in Sir Normans bar, delicious 3 course meal, good portions, great service, very reasonable prices, would recommend. A big shame that the pool is now closed, we would have enjoyed the facilities had they been available. I think the hotel information booklet in the rooms should be updated stating the closure of the pool. All in all a lovely weekend away despite the freezing weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed one of our lovely sea view rooms and found it spacious and comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding our food, both at breakfast time and Sir Normans and The Gallery. We are sorry that the pool was closed during your visit and have noted your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for our 4th wedding Anniversary.Room was one of the Suites.Very nicely laid out,Balcony was nice and big.Tea,Coffee,Biscuits and fridge.Big telly.Huge Bed.Ironing board.Bathroom had shower,bath,basin,bede,toilet,nicely done out Before going out we had a drink at Sir Normans(Bar, part of Hotel).Had a quick look at Menu thought not bad selection and well priced.Seeing it was special occasion we went out looking and looked and looked bit pricey.Ended back at Sir Normans had a very nice meal and wine.Well looked after by Tony and Melroy.Thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Sefton for your anniversary and equally delighted that your stay with us was such a success. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter planned her wedding here at the Sefton and the whole event was perfect with every small detail catered for by the staff . The hotel is splendid in every way and complimented by warm friendly and efficient employees.
We would recommend this hotel for any occasion but with our experience they excel at weddings and family events .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that your daughter's wedding went as planned and was "perfect with every small detail catered for". May we take this opportunity to wish your daughter and son-in-law all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had an amazing night here watching the IL Divo tribute , the meal was fantastic and the staff was very friendly ! In a good location right on the promenade only a short walk to the town centre shops. The bar also does very good food serving big portions . I didn't stay in the rooms at this hotel but my friends did so got to see them and the rooms were very big and came with tv, kettle and tea making condiments , iron and ironing board , mini bar .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the "IL Divo tribute". We are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us - why not make a weekend of it next time and relax in one of our Atrium rooms, or pamper yourself by staying in one of our sumptious Suites?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 4-star hotel in Douglas, close to the capital’s main shopping and business districts, The Sefton combines finely restored Victorian elegance, a modern extension centred round a beautiful indoor water-garden, and the new 5-star quality Sefton Suites. If you want luxury, convenience and tranquillity, The Sefton is the obvious choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sefton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.