We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Situated close to all amenities a 4 star hotel rooms are OK and buffet breakfast is good and generous. Staff are not very friendly although they did what was expected. Douglas is a good base from which to explore the Island and all it's attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear your comment regarding our staff however I would respond by saying such feedback is very rare as we do pride ourselves in our customer service. On the positive side, we are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and as you say the hotel is situated close to all amenities and is a good base from which to explore the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    138
    138
    59
    28
See reviews for
60
178
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It also provides free parking. However, it doesn't seem to have changed at all since it was run by Hilton. The front needs a clean/ lick of paint. The jacuzzi was out of action and by the sounds of it has been for a good while. The changing rooms were dirty. The room provided what we needed and was clean. Definitely worth paying more for a sea view.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. Yes, we agree you can't beat the location of our hotel plus the added advantage of free parking which is not always easy in Douglas. We are pleased you found your room clean although am sorry to hear your comments with regard to the changing room and the jacuzzi. A part is on its way for the jacuzzi which is being sent via Courier so hopefully this should be back up and running in the next day or two. In addition we do have a number of planned areas for refurbishment throughout the hotel this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had our second annual dinner dance here and again the food was outstanding, the venue was clean and smart and the staff couldn't do enough to help. I don't have any comments about the rooms but for a formal dinner, you can't get better than this for a venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It goes without saying that we are delighted to receive your positive feedback and really pleased that your annual dinner dance was such a success. We will pass your comments on to the staff concerned, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had the "deluxe" room... basically in normal hotels this is actually just a standard room. The main entrance to the hotel feels like you're entering a cheap motel in a car par. The actual hotel on the outside looks like a grimy London council block. As you walk in you know the place hasn't been decorated for about 70 years. . The room was very worn out with stains on the sofa - definitely the opposite of luxury. The best thing they could do to this place is knock it down and start over. The staff are lovely however. Oh, and I had a good view of the sea (through dirty windows).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion although we note your positive comments regarding our staff, thank you. We are hoping to undertake areas of improvement within the hotel this year and hope these improvements will help address your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a room with a free upgrade, we got a very basic room (210) with the hotel Aircon/heater outside the window and a view of the rear car park. We complained and were moved to a larger room (419) with a fine sea view, the room had an odd smell, not bad just odd. The Gale whistled through the door frame ensuring good ventilation and the bed though wide enough was a damn site to short and my feet stuck out the bottom (I'm only 6'3"). The mattress was entirely uncomfortable both to my wife and myself appearing to be stuffed with rocks.
The front street entrance had the feint smell of an old peoples home....
The breakfast was of good standard with a good choice. The Manx lamb served at the evening meal was delightful, as was the salmon/leek potatoes, but avoid the beet salad which is just pickled beets with pickled cabbage.......
The Staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please, no problem whatsoever there, such nice people.
In consideration the Douglas Best Western (AKA The Palace) was not up to the standard I expect of any Best Western Hotel and I wont be back.

Room Tip: High up and sea view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We are very sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion and have noted your comments in particular regarding the "uncomfortable bed". We do replace our mattresses on a regular basis and will ask our Housekeeping Team to review the bed in this room. On the plus side, we are pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I would like to share my experience of the Best Western Palace hotel and casino with you all. We have just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel and this is how we feel about it. Firstly the positives: Hotel staff are excellent and do a good job, nothing is too much for them to sort out or give you some helpful advice. Food; the quality of the breakfast and evening meal is of a very good standard. I would recommend the manx lamb in the carvery it tasted sublime. Rooms: the room we had was a suite room 302 with an additional living room it was spacious and very clean. We also had the benefit of a small balcony. There were 2 LCD TV's , a small fridge and a couch plus 2chairs with a table. Now for the negatives. The main complaint I am going to make is the quality of the bed. This was so poor and uncomfortable we didn't get a sleep for 2 nights and ended up sleeping on the floor. It got so bad that we took the mattress off the pull down bed and put this on top of the mattress in our room to try and make ourselves comfortable but to no avail. At this present moment in time we would not go back to this hotel but would consider it if they could sort out the bed situation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are very pleased you found our staff helpful and our food to a very good standard. We are also pleased that you found your room spacious and very clean. We are sorry that you found the mattress on your bed uncomfortable. We do have a rolling programme to replace mattresses as and when required and will ask our Housekeeping to review the mattress in this room. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very tired and in need of a good clean. Stains on walls and lamp shade, seal around window broken so extensive condensation in the morning, bathroom was very dirty, lots of noise in the early hours as people returned to their rooms from the casino and nightclub. Breakfast was good with good selection. Free WIFI was useless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your feedback and will address the issues you have raised where possible, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island’s capital, Palace Hotel ♦ Casino is the Island’s leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island’s only licensed casino and largest night club and cinema. The place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.