We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
St Annes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great location and brilliant breakfasts with fresh Manx kippers. But the decor is becoming a little tired and it might be time for Best Western to update things. Being right on the sea front is a big bonus, straight out onto the promenade gives you a real holiday feeling each day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We have plans to update a number of areas within the hotel this year which will hopefully address the comments you have made. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts, especially our lovely Manx kippers! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    157
    159
    63
    29
See reviews for
61
212
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My father and I arrived and found this hotel quite easily due it's location on the promenade and you can see it from quite far away. When we got in however it was a little confusing to find the reception as we entered from the front and they had little signage until we got lost telling us to go back to where we came from and up another way towards reception so that could certainly be improved. Check-in however was fast, easy and helpful. They gave us a plenty of information on the hotel, what we can do in the Isle of Man as well as a timetables for all public transport including heritage transport that was open at the time. When we went upstairs to our room, it was very well designed, not too big and not too small. The place was also spotless clean and our rooms got cleaned thoroughly everyday and although i was never there for it I was impressed to see on my door they test the fire alarms weekly. However we stayed during good weather, noticed it was lacking an air conditioning and the room got very hot even at night meaning we had to keep the balcony(speaking of which, it was small but it worked!) door open but we didn't mind the sea breeze. Breakfast was always very nice and you couldn't complain about it, in fact I almost always went back for more. I've booked a return visit for around the same time next year, just a little later.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room, it is well worth the extra money for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your comments regarding the cleanliness of your rooms and the level of customer service. We are especially pleased to hear that you will be booking with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I booked me and my husband into the Palace for an overnight stay on one of their special offers. We upgraded to a deluxe room and despite asking to be near a lift as my husband has slight walking difficulties, were we allocated a room at the far end of the hotel. Not a good start. The rooms are so dismal and depressing and although it appeared clean because of the "greyness" of everything this did not come over very well. The springs in the beds are shattered and every time you turned over the sound was horrendous, and did not provide a good nights sleep, the pillows were also well past their sell by date. In it's heyday the Palace was renown for it's carvery, sadly this has also all fallen victim to it's decline. The cold starters offers some tasteless sliced cooked meats and some very un appetising prawns that were obviously of the "cheaper" variety. For the main courses, 3 of the dishes were under pre-heated servers and had been there prior to our arrival and still there 2 hours later, the veg were obviously frozen and the desserts were also not made on the premises. Breakfast usual buffet type and hardly appealing. It is very sad that we as an Island offer this as 4 star accommodation and it gives our visitors a very bad impression .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The feedback given on TripAdvisor is very useful to us and I assure you that all reviews are taken seriously and where possible changes made. We do have a number of refurbishment plans in the pipeline for this year which we hope will address some of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is becoming tired.

In my opinion you should not enter a 4* hotel and not be greeted by staff. To have to call them is wrong. Checking in is therefore a slower experience than it should be.

The rooms need decorating, a deep clean the light shades are so dusty it is unbelievable. The beds are old with poor springs and are not comfortable. The flush on the toilet did not properly and the curtain was hanging off the hooks so could not drawer them correctly.

Staff are the highlight of this hotel and they do well to keep the place working, but their job is becoming increasingly harder as the hotel freefall's into a state.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a response following your stay with us and for your feedback. We do have plans afoot for a number of areas to be refurbished which will hopefully address the comments you make. On the plus side, thank you for your comments regarding our staff and thank you for chosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Best Western Palace Hotel and had a very enjoyable stay.The staff were very good and the service and food quality was excellent.There is a swimming pool,gym and casino on site also several bars,a restaraunt and a bingo/slot machines complex.A short walk across the car park is a cinema

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your "New Year Break" with us. We are delighed you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff, service and food quality excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The service here is good and the staff are friendly, but it does seem that since Hilton declassified this hotel a couple of years ago, nothing has been done to the rooms or decor of the hotel. It is tired; the rooms are almost as they were when Hilton left; the bed I had in a deluxe room was squeeking and I could feel the springs trying to come through the matress; the bathroom fixtures are basic and again suffering the effects of time. There are no heating controls in the rooms which leaves you at the mercy of the building climate control (if there is any).

The food and drink is good quality and well-priced; certainly cheaper that the old Hilton prices and the room-service and restaurants are efficient. Breakfast is very nice albeit poorly organised at arrival.

The casino is an excelent attraction and good reason to stay here.

The prices of the rooms is low and reflects the lower quality that this once premier-class hotel used to excel at.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding our staff and food. We are planning to refurbish a number of areas within the hotel this coming year which should hopefully address your feedback. Thank you for chosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island’s capital, Palace Hotel ♦ Casino is the Island’s leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island’s only licensed casino and largest night club and cinema. The place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.