We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay on the prom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay on the prom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Back again, a one night stay on Douglas prom before a self catering week in Ramsay.
Hotel location is brilliant, as is availablity of parking off the prom (cars and bikes).
The exec rooms with small balconies give a fabulous view over the bay and are clean and comfy. Room furnishings just starting to look a little tired, bit all still functional.
Very busy (and slightly chaotic last thing) at breakfast but food and service great once seated. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us here at the Palace. As you say, the location is brilliant and we are pleased you found your room clean and comfy and enjoyed our food. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ramsey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    159
    160
    63
    29
See reviews for
61
212
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on here I was expecting the worse I couldn't be more wrong
Ok the bad things was in room 241 long way from reception so no wifi hotel could do with updating but was clean and that is it
Good things location great food excellent breakfast and dinner bar prices no dearer than any where else staff very helpfully when you can understand them English not great
So all the bad reviews what are you moaning about I for one will stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found our hotel clean with great food. We are shortly to update our WIFI throughout the hotel so hopefully this will not be an issue next time you visit us. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a great weekend break with our mother and father, sea front room was warm and clean, breakfast/dinner was excellent, compliments to your chef, he does a great job. We have stayed here on our many visits to the island, and thoroughly enjoy it, for those people who complain about the 4**** accommodation, they could go to the Sefton which has been modernised and I bet you`ll pay a 4**** price for it too. Thanks to all the hotel staff for a great weekend, we`ll be back.

Room Tip: I like the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review ....we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend break with us and found your room warm and clean and breakfast and dinner excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This "palace" has a tiny casino for which you get £5 with your room to spend in there. The slot machines are all the same complicated and boring. The rooms are basic with cable only internet and moldy bathroom. The breakfast in the other hand is great with views of the beach, decent croissants and all the full english breakfast trimmings. However do not go for the fried eggs they are cooke din a bath of oil. The toast and tea are given separately when they remember you exist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been to the IOM many times over the years for the Motorcycle Racing, but this was my first visit with my wife for a "normal" weekend as couple.
I have stayed at this Hotel many years ago when it was a Hilton but I was attracted back this time my the winter offer of £89.00 per night for DB&B in a de-lux room.
Very well staffed, good food & a car park means that I will be back for another visit in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us on our special winter package. We are delighted that you found the hotel well staffed with good food. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed on business on two occasions this year.
The positives:
* The views from the sea front rooms are excellent.
* Free shuttle bus into town (albeit only found out about this by accident on second visit).
The negatives:
* £120 per night is far too expensive for this quality of accommodation
* The attitude of most staff is unwelcoming especially at reception and in the restaurant. The shuttle bus driver was the exception.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Let me start by saying the Isle of Man was a fantastic experience! I will return as often as possible next time hopefully not on business. Famous for TT races (motorcycle racing) of which I was completely unaware until I arrived and spent some time learning about the island. The flight from London was pleasant enough albeit it was a dated prop plane that helped us make the connection. Upon arrival at the hotel it is very clear THIS IS NOT an American standard 4 star hotel, nor is it a 4 star hotel by London standards. It is something else (something less and something more), which although dated, old and in bad need of updating inside and out, somehow fit in the landscape and character of the island. Check-in was adequate (as was check-out and accurate bill), the room size was OK for sleeping in, the bed was reasonably comfortable, things were generally clean (albeit far from anything sparkling) and everything worked. The view was that of the parking lot not the majestic coastline of Douglas Bay, but for the price it was fair enough. My colleagues and I did not spend any time in the casino, health club or pool so I really can't comment on those parts of the hotel. What really turned out to be a very pleasant surprise was the restaurant (Paragon) and the bar within the restaurant. First a great view of the coastline which added to the wonderful (albeit also dated) ambiance, plenty of tables and space, friendly and polite staff, great selection on the menu and buffet, very good quality food, lively clientele (and plenty of them) and it turned out to be our preferred location for entertaining clients while visiting. Overall - would stay again but may ask to see the rooms they have available first. It would be wonderful if they updated the overall building even if just some minor decor and polish but as I said it seemed to feel right in the overall landscape.

Room Tip: Higher floors with coastline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and a belated welcome to the Isle of Man. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We do indeed have plans for updating parts of the hotel in the near future and hope this will address the comments you have made. Overall we are delighted you would stay again with us. As you say, the Isle of Man is a fantastic place - but then we are perhaps biased! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island’s capital, Palace Hotel ♦ Casino is the Island’s leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island’s only licensed casino and largest night club and cinema. The place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.